How Do I tell If my RO Unit needs replacing?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by CJT, 27 Apr 2013.

  1. CJT

    CJT

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Hi Guys

    As the title says anyone know who can check or how I check.
    I know the filters need to be changed but how do I know when the resin is finished (I think thats what it is)
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Check the waters tds, if it's too high it's time to change filters.
     
  4. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Where would I get a TDS meter
     
  5. seahunter

    seahunter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    durban
    Call Hanna Instruments
     
  6. seahunter

    seahunter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    durban
    Ask for the meter that reads in "ppm" (parts per million)
     
  7. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Thanks how much do they go for?
     
  8. Zandy

    Zandy

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just got one and Wild on Pets sell them for around R339-00 if i am not mistaken
     
  9. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    most of the sponsors carry TDS meter's, I know Wild on Pets have
     
  10. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Thanks guys so I assume if the reading is high then I replace the filters do I also replace the membrane as well?
     
  11. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    How old are the pure filters and membranes? Start with prefilter replacement

    Is your unit equipped with a flush valve? If so try flushing the system to lower tds
     
    Last edited: 30 Apr 2013
  12. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    I have checked it does not seem to have a flush valve
     
  13. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
  14. casperman

    casperman

    Joined:
    31 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    pretoria
    Hi.

    Ideally one should replace the pre filters once a month. That will protect and let the membrane last longer.
    One should test the RO water frequently and replace the membrane when it increases .

    I got mine from my local "water" shop that sells RO water. The meter cost R399
     
  15. WarrenElvis

    WarrenElvis

    Joined:
    31 May 2011
    Posts:
    613
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Durban
    Geez @casperman , you going to be out of pocket quickly in this hobby, assuming your RO unit is running 24/7 or your water is coming from the sewage plant direct without filtration:p
    Might be worth your while to check your TDS on your supply, would be interested to know if you are changing your prefilters monthly
    For me i am changing filters and resin +/- 6 months and membrane about 24 months and always have 0 TDS readings, just have to look after your membrane and remember to do regular flush on your membrane, before you are about to use the unit.
    So yes ideally we would like to change our pre filters monthly, and ideally we would all like to make more money to do this;)
    @CJT with regard to TDS Meter i got mine from the Waterboy- Marco, and its an inline one that i have placed before the DI Resin so i know my TDS of water coming out of the membrane, and the resin is the color changing one, so will know when that needs to be changed
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  16. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    NJ I don't have a valve like that where does it go on the RO unit
     
  17. WarrenElvis

    WarrenElvis

    Joined:
    31 May 2011
    Posts:
    613
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Durban
    @CJT , its on your waste water line, maybe if you can put pic up of your setup, you would assumingly have a flow restrictor on your waste line. the flush valve replaces the flow restrictor, and allows you to flush the membrane
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  18. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    Agreed with @WarrenElvis comments.
    On your RO unit you normally have the 2 pre-filters, then the membrane, then some have a DI resin chamber. You can get colour changing resin which is used in a clear tube so you can see when it is exhausted.

    Replacing your filters also depends on how high the TDS of your tap water is. But without a TDS meter I would change the 2 pre-filters every 6 months, the DI resin every 2 or 3 months, and the membrane should last 3 years or if your tap water is very high in TDS then maybe 2 years.

    If you are going to replace the filters or membrane then don't forget you need to disconnect them and flush them separately before connecting them all in line again.
     
    Last edited: 26 Nov 2015
  19. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Ok thanks guys I will take a pic of the unit
     
  20. CJT

    CJT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2011
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Mondeor
    Here are the pics of my RO unit:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  21. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    Yip, standard RO unit, most of the standard filters you can buy should fit. It doesn't look like you have a flush valve on there, just an auto shut off valve I think. Ideally you want one of these, it's a waste flow restrictor with a bypass valve, in a sort of kit form.

    [​IMG]

    If you buy new pre-filters (the 2 vertical housings), when you put them in and before you use the unit, remove the tube that goes from the second housing into the membrane on top, then connect up the water supply, this will flush out all the carbon dust and stop it from clogging up your membrane, a 5 or 10 minute flush should be fine. Remember the sediment filter goes first, then the carbon filter.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - tell Unit needs Forum Date
[wtd] 2 x intellisun units with controller Wanted 15 Dec 2015
[wtd] 90w Intellisun unit Wanted 14 Aug 2014
Reef Aquatics discontinues the sale of the IntelliSun Unit Reef Aquatics 9 Aug 2014
Just Landed - The IntelliSun-Spectrum V3.0 units Reef Aquatics 15 Apr 2014
Some Pics of our IntelliSun Units over some great SPS Tanks Reef Aquatics 30 Dec 2013
New member from Stellenbosch New Members 23 Jul 2016
anyone keeping a stylotella aurantium? Soft Corals 17 May 2016