how can i add aragonie to dsb sump

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by naughtydragons, 9 Feb 2011.

  1. naughtydragons

    naughtydragons

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2009
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    pretoria
    Hey guys, iv got a standard sump design with DSB (play-sand) and would like to add aragonite: even if its just for calsium??? or even another DSB. iv got a canister without inner inlet tube, cud i use it for a dsb, would a small amount of aragonite in mesh have any contribution, should i, (how can i) just slowly replace substrate wiv argonite, got LPS, current dsb just doesnt wanna go, (1year) WHAT?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. KeeganP

    KeeganP

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    53
    Depending on the size, I heard that what you can do is, remove a cup or two (depending on the size) a day and replace it with aragonite... Im not sure how suitable aragonite is for a DSB tho...
     
  4. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,092
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    I'm with Keegan. Just wash the aragonite well so it doesn't cloud your water
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - aragonie sump Forum Date
[wtd] 5' or 6' wanted with sump & overflow box Wanted Thursday at 04:03
[wtd] Sump Wanted 8 Apr 2017
Sump sump sumpedie Anything DIY Related 22 Mar 2017
Urgent help needed Potters stuck in 'sump' area Urgent Help Needed 12 Mar 2017
Remote Sump/Engine Room: Pros & Cons Anything DIY Related 10 Mar 2017
200L display with a 330L sump General Discussions and Advice 2 Mar 2017
Bigger sump volume than display tank volume. 200DPT with 200sump Beginner Discussions 1 Mar 2017