High PH in RO water

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Alan, 15 Jul 2007.

  1. Alan

    Alan Admin

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    KZN
    Guys can anybody help me here. Firstly i have really cr*py tap water. It comes out of the tap with a PH of around 8.5 and has chloramine in it. So i have to first remove the chlorine and then filter through zeolites to absorb the ammonia and then through the RO membrane. Marco and myself spent many hours getting this right. My first membrane lasted about 2 months before the ammonia destroyed it, my second one has been in for about 4yrs and only gives me a TDS reading of 5, which is still fine after all that time. I do run through DI resin after the membrane to get the TDS to 0.
    My ro water still has a PH of about 8.5 after the RO/DI process which is not a problem in itself with a marine system although i used to struggle with discus.
    My question is this:With that amount of buffer[what ever it is] would it impede the dissolving of Calcium Chloride to add to the system, as i know the higher the alk and PH in salt water the less CA it can hold?
     
  2. Guest




  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    what about the tropic marine triple buffer alan?no experience with it but i know it helps with stabalising PH.i do stand for correction here
     
  4. OP
    Alan

    Alan Admin

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    KZN
    No dont want to buffer RO, i use it to add calcium to the system and so dissolve a fair amount in the ro water to drip into the system over a period of time about 1 hour.
     
  5. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    did you manage to speak to marco again,maybe he managed to come up with an idea alan?
     
  6. OP
    Alan

    Alan Admin

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    KZN
    Idea for what?
     
  7. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    to see if he came up with what he can do to help sort out the ph prob from the RO
     
  8. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    28,979
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    I know we are straying off topic here but why do you not want to buffer your RO? Many people do, Anthony Calfo has always strongly advocated the buffering of RO water before it is added to the aquarium.
     
  9. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    sorry off topic again.can tropic marine triple buffer sot out the ph in plain RO or in saltwater itself?
     
  10. OP
    Alan

    Alan Admin

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    KZN
    We really are getting side tracked here, i do buffer my top up water, what i need to know is will the high ph in the RO water impede its ability to hold an extremely high CA content used for raising the CA in my main system.
     
  11. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    soryy alan.went a bit off track there.lets see what our scientists have to say
     
  12. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    Yes...the higher the ph the less soluble calcium (ie a shot of vinegar with your top allows you to supersaturate)....however i find it highly unlikely that ro water with 0 tds could possibly have such a high ph...something not right there
     
  13. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    well we havent actually taken alans age into consideration there ;)
     
  14. OP
    Alan

    Alan Admin

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    KZN
    Has always been that way, really tried to get to the bottom of it when i bred Discus, but couldn't get the answers. I really dont know what they buffer the water with. But believe me when i say TDS 0 and PH 8.5 confuses me aswell and had Marco baffeled.
     
  15. phat

    phat

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    745
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    the slums
    hahaha very funny, i love the staff i reserve the right to insult them:lol:

    why wouldn't it?
     
  16. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    i wasnt insulting,i respect my elders ;)
     
  17. OP
    Alan

    Alan Admin

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    KZN
    The higher the PH the higher the ALK, the higher the ALK the less CA it can hold, the reason snow storms happen in tanks.
     
  18. phat

    phat

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    745
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    the slums
    yes i know but why wouldn't it in RO, do you know of any reason that it wouldn't happen in the RO as opposed to SW
     
  19. phat

    phat

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    745
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    the slums
    i am assuming your are buffering your RO water with calcium?
     
  20. OP
    Alan

    Alan Admin

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    KZN
    RO normally has a slightly acidic PH of about 6.5 because of the lack of ALK, so would be able to saturate with CA. Now with the higher ALK levels can it still saturate with CA?
     
  21. OP
    Alan

    Alan Admin

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    KZN
    Phat you cant buffer with CA you can only add it to the water.
    Buffer normally refers to alkalinity, which inturn buffers the Ph, hence it is termed a buffer.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - High water Forum Date
Water Temp too high Water Parameters and Additives 3 Nov 2014
Underwater Highlights of Lembeh Strait General Discussions and Advice 20 Apr 2012
Ro water high phosphates Water Parameters and Additives 23 Dec 2010
High Phosphates Water Parameters and Additives 27 Aug 2017
High Nitrates and Phosphates General Discussions and Advice 26 Jun 2017
[wtd] 3000lph and higher return pumps Wanted 25 Jun 2017
Urgent help needed High Phosphates Urgent Help Needed 15 Jun 2017

Share This Page