hi hi

Discussion in 'New Members' started by oceanic boy, 12 Sep 2011.

1. oceanic boy

oceanic boy

Hi reefers.... How you guys doing? Great to be here... Im starting a brand new marine tank and really need some good advice...my tank size- 650x650x350... I have a ts1 protein skimmer, a reactor and a return pump.. Apparently thats sufficient for now as im a beginner?... I really need advice on lighting.. I wanted metal halides but apparently my corals will be burnt because of the depth of my tank. True or false?... Im looking for light that will bring out the colour and coral in my rank.. Advice would be much appreciated... Thanx:)

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. belindamotion

belindamotion Google Master

:welcometomasa2:...have you tried reading up on LED's...? Some good Units and with you'r size Tank, finding the perfect "fit" shouldn't be a problem as I find LED Unit's are more available for Medium to Larger Tanks...Not only will they help with heat, but also with Electricity...

PS..my next Tank is you'r size...made a Stand for a 650x650...was thinking of 450 for H but haven't decided yet...

Last edited: 12 Sep 2011
  4. oceanic boy

oceanic boy Thread Starter

Hi and thanx for the warm welcome. Yes i have used leds before and worked really well in my previous nano... Ive seen a pic on 1 of the new posts of a very small nano using metal halides and dats the reaon i wanted to try but peeps told me its going to burn my coral..

5. Nemos Janitor

Nemos Janitor

WELCOME to MASA

6. oceanic boy

Thank you

7. belindamotion

Yes...or apparently boil you'r water...:eek:

8. oceanic boy

Lol oh hell no!!!!! Say no to metal halides:thumbup: decide properly on your tank size.. Make sure thats what you reaaalllyyy want.. So are my requirements ok thus far for my tank? Do i need anything else?

9. Tremayn

Tremayn