Hi Guys!

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Rob13, 11 Feb 2015.

1. Rob13

Rob13 MASA Contributor

Hi everyone!

I have kept many freshwater tanks in the past and just like many others before me, I have been drawn to the beauty that is a marine aquarium.

I am a complete novice when it comes to marine setups and only starting reading about 2 weeks ago. I am hoping to learn a lot from this forum and share my successes and failures along the way.

Perhaps the first question that I would like to ask is this: If there is something that you wish you had known when you started this hobby, what would it be?

Thanks guys, I look forward to learning and growing with the help of the members on MASA.

Regards

Rob

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Nemos Janitor

Nemos Janitor

How to measure SALINITY and how to read a hydrometer.

4. 459b

459b Moderator MASA Contributor

Welcome to MASA!!

Rushing is bad. Plan filtration around what livestock you want and draw up a list of what livestock you want before adding anything.

Nemos Janitor likes this.
  5. Nemos Janitor

Nemos Janitor

Going to elaborate here a little. This simple parameter can cause so many fatalities and is the most overlooked.

Amongst the first few bits of kit a LFS sell to any newbie is a hydrometer to test salt levels and a bag of salt. The advice given is to keep the hydrometer in the green.

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

My advice is to understand how to read a simple hydrometer and what part temperature plays. If you don't understand that simple instrument then your salinity will never stabilize.

So understand the first basic water parameter and how to measure and maintain, then move on to the other parameters.

Rob13 likes this.
  6. Hails

Hails

That Mandarins need to be in hooded, escape-proof tanks.

7. Dexter

Dexter

Rather use aroganite instead of crushed coral as substrate

sniper likes this.
  8. Rob13

Rob13 Thread Starter MASA Contributor

Thanks for the replies!