hi guys im new to marine tanks

Discussion in 'New Members' started by xrayguy, 28 May 2012.

1. xrayguy

xrayguy

Hi
    I new to marine tanks. Started my build last year.
    Have a 4ft. Tank

3 foot sump
    Weipro skimmer
    Reef ova flow

Tank mates
    3 butterflies two of which are racoons n one treadfin
    Stripped tang. X 2
    Wrasse.
    Box fish
    2 bumble bee shrimp. One spiney blue lobster.
    Yellow belly and domino damsel
    Sash damsel.

Also have a voliton lion baby about 3 inches. Which I plan on swapping or selling.

So that my set up will put up pics

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Gesiggie

Gesiggie Challenge accepted

Hi xrayguy.
    Glad you finally started an introductory thread! Now we can formally welcome you.

Welcome to MASA.
    I see you've been busy collecting for your tank...
    So do start sharing the pics.:thumbup:

4. Wes

Wes

:welcome6:

5. crispin

crispin

hey xrayguy, welcome to masa, nice to have you join:)

it sounds like you buildt the tank yourself, is that the case? If so well done on some DIY, there is so much DIY one can do with tanks and it realy helps keep the costs down.

From that stocking list you are obviously planning a Fish Only system which is cool. I am a little concerned though that a 4 foot tank with 5 big fish that need swimming space (the tangs and butterflies) and a couple of aggresive fish for their size (damsels) plus a few poisonous fish (box fish and lion fish) you are going to get over crowded and stressed fish pretty soon. Just a heads up, id suggest looking into the size systems those stripped tangs (not a common name i am familiar with, but seeing you are in drbs i think its a clown tang Acanthurus lineatus) are going to fight and will hammer each other. Just for intrest here is another site you can have a read up on the size of tank they need (250 gallon) for a single specimin Saltwater Aquarium Fish for Marine Aquariums: Clown Tang.