Help

Reaction score
hi there, im new to marine aquaruims, hav a 250l tank , use eheim canister filter, bout 5 clark clowns and 1 damsil, my problem is with the alge the hairy one, tryed everything, got 4 hermit crabs, some one told me that i need to get a sump?
please help

Reaction score
Hey Burt, take a look around the beginners threads, many people are going through the same problem as you. Should find some helpful tips there

Mike

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
Hi Burt, can you give us some more details of your system? do you have liverock? a skimmer? do you use R/O, natural sea water or tap water? do you run a phosphate remover?

Sumps are handy, but not necessary, they certainly help in hiding all the ugly equipment and increase water volume, but on their own they won't help much in removing hair algae.

Reaction score
thanks, skimmer, have liferock but not much bout 10kg,use sea water and ro. use phosgaurd

Reaction score
Maybe try post a piture of your system so the guys can get a better knowledge of the layout of your tank

Mike

Retired Moderator
Reaction score
also the filter is a 2222 eheim, should i get a bigger one?
You have a phosphate problem i think, how often do you change the phosguard? how much do you feed? what do you feed? what area do you get your sea water from?

Reaction score
use to hav a 100l tank used tapwater and salt mix, coz of the tapwater all my rocks was covered ith alge, now im just using seawater, from the shore, befor it goes in the tank i filtrate the new water first. food i use is sera gvg mix marin and sera granumarin, i feed them twice a day, not much, phosgaurd once a month bout 250grams

Mike

Retired Moderator
Reaction score