Help with setup on zeo goeters

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by xtreme, 6 Aug 2011.

1. xtreme

xtreme

Hi guys

Ok was reading on the forum a bit then came across RiaanP DSB thread, my sump will be to small so not to waste time I decided to go with the Zeo goeters

My DT is 110cmLx 60cmW x water level 41cm

Sump is 68cmLx 55cmW x 35cmH

need it to have a good filtration, my porky pine puffer,Moray eel, 2 saddle back clowns and humbug is going in there, porky and moray mess a lot with food

how would you setup the sump and how many chambers?
    Going to order a Zeolith filter rated for 900L

What media must I put in there?
    Any info on how to start from day one with a unit like that?
    I'm a newbie to this, lol, don't want to mess it up:eek:

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Q89

Q89

Going to tag along, also interested:thumbup:

Last edited: 6 Aug 2011
  4. Q89

Q89

I have a question.

What is the difference between all the different zeo stuf, zoelith, zeovit ect?

5. Tony

Tony

The zeolites on their own wont really help in your setup as you are trying to deal will keeping nutrients to a minimum from messy fish opposed to a ULNS which is needed for colourful SPS reef tanks and for which zeolite systems are designed. Yes, the zeolites do absorb ammonia to a certain degree and they do house bacteria which you dislodge by flushing the media but you can do without the reactor and cannot be relied on to absorb ammonia. I would personally go with probiotics dosing, carbon dosing and a big skimmer. That is all I use without a DSB, very little live rock or any other form of nutrient export besides a skimmer. A good GAC reactor will be better in keeping DOC's down.