help please

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Kevin34PE, 22 Jan 2013.

1. Kevin34PE

Kevin34PE

Hi, as you can see, my name is Kevin , im 34 and from PE. Im new to the marine hobby, so please, any help will be appreciated.

I have built a 2.2m x 80cm x 80cm tank with sump etc, what I need help with isthe following
    1) what do I put in my sump? Live rock and dsb and chaeto or similar?
    2)what lighting can I use that won't bankrupt me, also im not sure yet as to what I want in my tank, so im guessing a light system for both fish and corals etc will be needed and where do I get it in pe?
    3) should I get a uv light for my sump?

Last edited: 22 Jan 2013
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. RocketRooster

RocketRooster

You first need to decide what sort of tank you're going for (i.e FOWLR/softies/mixed reef/SPS etc)

4. Kevin34PE

Kevin34PE Thread Starter

That's jusy the problem,I'm not sure what I want in,maybe some corals and a anenome or 2? That's why I'm looking for a light system that can be used for various things. Not gonna be fun having a tank this size with just water and fish,I want to atleast make it something to look at.

5. RocketRooster

RocketRooster

An anemone or two he says, in his 2200x800x800 tank, he says. :)

I'd go for a dimmable LED cannon setup if it were me and I had the $$$. That way you can grow anything. @dallasg

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  6. ty

ty

hey dsb and live rock is excellent as you need to mature your tank, a uv sterilizer i wouldn't say is necessary as indeed it kills all the bad bacteria but it also kills the good bacteria

7. saaid

saaid

A lot of options there. Try to get a decent amount of LR first and it will give you an idea of what you want the tank look like. I have a "similar" sized tank. Running 16 T5's of which 10 are blue and six white.

8. Kevin34PE

Kevin34PE Thread Starter

Ok thanks,so will scratch idea of a uv light.