Help needed

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by Gwydion, 4 May 2011.

1. Gwydion

Gwydion

Hi all,

Newbie here, and now the questions begin..:thumbup:

So basically I have never had a marine setup so I decided to start a nano tank when I bought my Jebo R338 tank. 40L tank with a built in canister type filter and two T5 8w white lights.

To get to the point I replaced the filter sponge with seachem products which I cant remember what they are:blush: Some corse stones and a filter back filled with all sorts which the guy at the petstore suggested I get. Crushed coral and water I got from my boet to speed up the tank ect.

Now at first I wasn`t going to get a skimmer but after doing some research I decided it would be best.

The only decent skimmer I could find small enough was the TMC cataract protein skimmer TS-680. It does not come with a pump so I got one too which was recommended by the shop dude.

[​IMG]

Now this is my problem: I set it up everything seems fine, but I just dont know if the skimmer is working properly??? It makes tiny bubbles in the cylinder which after a while turns into a vortex:eek: haha... Anyway, I seem to have some trouble knowing where my water level should be? Because it hasn`t made any foam yet and when I push the water level up about 1cm away from the top of the skimate tube it doesnt seem to make any bubbles...

I hope this makes sense

If someone could help me out? Or would like to make friends and come see my setup??:whistling:

Cheers and thanks!

G

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tony

Tony

Welcome to MASA

How high does the water go up in the skimmer. It should be where the neck inside the collection cup starts narrowing. Also bear in mind that if you have nothing in the tank there is nothing to skim. What exactly is in the water? Do you have live rock or any fish?

4. shrimpman

shrimpman