Help about mantis shrimp

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Jason.Ribeiro, 21 Dec 2011.

1. Jason.Ribeiro

Jason.Ribeiro

I'm new to having an aquarium and I really enjoy it. I've been hearing these clicking noises similar to that of a scrape. I have been beginning to notice a lot of holes and tunnels formed in my live rock. I have been looking on the internet and i have found that the noises come from what is called a "Mantis Shrimp" and it's burrowing through my live rock. I would like to know how i can get rid of it besides pouring soda water, fresh water or boiling water into the tunnels/holes because I'm told, by my lfs, that in doing so I would have to begin the "curing" process all over again. Please could you help me... I'm clueless at the moment... Thank you.

Last edited: 21 Dec 2011
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. finrott

finrott

Have you seen it yet? More than likley it is just a pistol shrimp (Which is harmless) I have loads of them in my system...Can you post a pic of the burrows in the live rock? Any fish in the system? How long has ur tank been running for? Please dont stress until you actually see the bugger...

4. Jason.Ribeiro

Jason.Ribeiro Thread Starter

How would i get a pistol shrimp into my rock? My tanks has been runing for almost 3 weeks now, my nitrite and nitrate levels have been 0 for 2 of the 3 weeks and i have a sand sifting star fish, i think it's a goby, a firecracker shrimp, and some other shrimp and 2 blue clawed hermit crabs. i found my little hermit crab shell in a burrow and his legs had been ripped out of the shell and they were laying on the sand bed?? would my shrimp do this ? I have been looking up a lot of stuff recently on websites and other forums and all clues lead to the mantis shrimp... people say the pistol shrimp noises have more of a rhythm to them. I'll post some pictures from my camera tomorrow, i have to up load them, some burrows go right through on of my rocks.

Last edited: 22 Dec 2011