Hello and help!

Discussion in 'New Members' started by robski, 8 May 2008.

1. robski

robski

hi guys,

Im new to this, and would appreciate some handy tips and advice..

Maybe some corals, liverock or fish for sale.

Thanks guys,

Robbie :slayer:

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. lIghty

lIghty

Welcome Robski

Hope you enjoy MASA.

take a look under the classifieds, things always for sale.

4. Franske

Franske

Hi and welcome,please scream if you need some help

5. robski

robski Thread Starter

thanks alot,

excited to start my long journey of fish finding and keeping!

but now, i was told when buying the tank by sam from sam's to put sea waterin it from the atlantic and run it for between 28 - 32 days before putting stuff in.

and when i was leaving, some guys told meto get RO water and keep it running for 3 months before stocking it..

now, being a newbie, you can see my dilema...

suggestions please guys, HELP, lol..

thanks

6. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

7. Mike

Mike Retired Moderator

Hi Robski,

Natural sea water is ok as long as it collected from an area well away from sewer outfalls/esturies or busy beaches, collected from an incoming tide would be better..

As for R/O water and synthetic salt - that works too.

You need to set your tank up as viper suggested read the link he posted then start asking questions here, that way you will enjoy this fantastic but demanding hobby.

8. sunburst

sunburst

Welcome to the Marine and Reefkeeping hobby Robbie:D

9. Mekaeel

Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

Welcome Rob :)

10. robski

robski Thread Starter

thanks guys, you have all made me feel very welcome.

ok, so tomorrow i'm going down to bakoven/oudekraal to collect some beach water, and then do i add supplements immediately, or wait for a month to start fiddling with the water?

also, should i introduce LR or LS starit away, or wait?

P.s, where do i pick up LS?

Thanks

11. Quinton

Quinton Smarty-pants Newbie