Hello All

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Hudsonkzn, 30 Mar 2009.

1. Hudsonkzn

Hudsonkzn

Hey guys.

I'm a total novice in the Marine Aquarium hobby.

I have had a Fresh Water tank for a while now, and have just setup my Marine Tank.

My tank size is: 700 x 325 x 500mm. I got the tank from a 2nd Hand shop, for next to nothing.

I have since built a wodden lid for it, and tried something that some of you may shoot me for. I went down to Ansteys beach in Durban and collected water, sand. Also caught a few fish from the rock pools. Took all this home and put it into my tank. I have a HETO Pump in the tank as well. I also installed a double fillament light system, and heater.

Everything went well, for the past month, fish seemed happy. They were eating flakes and all was well.

I did all this because someone told me it will work.

It actually did for a month, but then I proceeded to do something further which was to add live rock . These rocks contained small crabs, algae, muscles and a host of other living creatures.

The tank looks great, but after a day or so, my fish started to die.

I guess I did something wrong. So I don't know if you guys can help or give me advise on what I did wrong?

Please don't hate me for anything I may have done wrong.

Cheers

Last edited by a moderator: 30 Mar 2009
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tony

Tony

Welcome. Do you know what fish you have?

4. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator

Oooops, I gave you a nice welcome in your other thread :p - please read it.