Heating problems

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by vincentputter, 1 May 2012.

1. vincentputter

vincentputter I love Nayn cat!

Hey guys! I've mentioned in another thread that I'm going to restart my tank and I did. I did It yesterday (30/04/2012). I removed the sump and placed the 3500L/h return pump into my +- 40l DT to create movement (like a power head).

The problem that I'm facing now Is heat. The tanks temp. Is stabilizing @ +-40°C.

Now how do I explain my current situation?
    1) I work as a bartender so there is no money to buy a chiller unless I save up for one.
    2) Its a very small tank so there Is no room for a huge fan to keep It cool.

I think/know It's the return pump that's generating the heat. If I replace the return pump with a power head with the same L/h than that would mean that the temp. would remain the same? If the temp. remains the same than I'll HAVE to save up for a chiller.

What do you guys think?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Hi, what size is the tank? Does the tank have a hood? Easiest way is to put 2 or 3 old pc fans in the hood, if possible.

4. viper357

One of those numbers can't be right, a 3500 lph pump in a 40 litre tank?

5. vincentputter

vincentputter Thread Starter I love Nayn cat!

I know! It's crazy right? The pump has a nozzle that splits the jet into 2 directions (left and right) so the flow is still a bit slow for my taste.

The tank is about 38l maybe 39l and yes, the tank have a lid. I'll put some PC fans in there and see what happens.

6. viper357