Health and Environmental warning

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Reef Maniac, 6 Jan 2008.

1. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

Hi All,

Here's an extract from an article published by the BBC World news service, which could be of interest to us all:

I've never thought about this before, but I believe that all the fluorescent lamps (T8's and the new T5's) AND metal halide lamps contain heavy metals, including mercury. Because our lamps are concentrated in small areas above our tanks, this could have potentially more dangerous implications for our health than the above report suggests for "normal" households. Also, I dare say that we replace our tank's lamps much more regularly than normal household lamps - how do we dispose of them? I must admit that until now, I've just thrown them into the rubbish bin...

Hennie

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Mike

Mike Retired Moderator

Funnily enough, as part of my work as a facilities manager, i have to organise bulb changing, i then have to account for every bulb that the company used, to ensure that they are all recycled - whilst at home, the council have never demanded the same - and there is no way to dispose of them safely.

4. sunburst

sunburst

Me too. Just toss them.
    It would appear then that over time waste dumps would have mercury runoff that could percolate into our rivers/drinking water. Factories must go through a decent number in a year. Wonder what disciplines are in place for there disposal

5. Warr7207

Warr7207

South Africa is way behind the rest of the world, when it comes to recycling.

6. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac Thread Starter MASA Contributor