Haqos ps-300

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by vincentputter, 28 Jun 2012.

1. vincentputter

vincentputter I love Nayn cat!

Hi guys! I bought myself a Haqos ps-300 protein skimmer (pics below) and I'm happy about It but there are some frustrating problems. I know that skimmers take time to "break in" but its been like a week and still no skimming so It lead me to think...... Is there such a thing as "No waste! No skimming!"? The second problem Is that the skimmer Is injecting micro bubbles into my DT!

[​IMG]

PS! I'm using It as a HOB skimmer.

Last edited: 28 Jun 2012
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. brentch

brentch

Eish.....I'm not a pro but I haven't heard of this brand. Where did you buy that Vincent? To me the pump may not be strong enough.... How small are the bubbles being produced in the chamber?

4. brentch

brentch

True, but don't you have any fish or coral to produce waste?

5. vincentputter

vincentputter Thread Starter I love Nayn cat!

I got the skimmer from Pet Junction. It is rated for a tank up to 300l and the pump Is a 800LPH pump. The bubbles It's producing Is small very, VERY small. The chamber looks like milk and you can't even see the bubbles that's how small they are and It's very aggressive inside the chamber. The only things I have In my tank at the moment is 1 hermit crab 1cmø, 1 snail 3 cmø, 4 mushroom coral +- 3 cmø, 2 boulder coral 5 cmø and a big fan worm.

6. ScottK

ScottK

A week may still be to soon. Did you break it in with a vinegar and water solution? I have had skimmers that have taken up to a month to be totally effective even with pre-soaking in vinegar to remove any oils from the manufacturing process.

If you set the skimmer at the right level the bubbles shouldn't go into the DT, if it's not running right you probably have the level set high to try and get it to skim. Give it some time and it should come right.

7. brentch

brentch