Happy With Fresh, Wanting to do Salt

Discussion in 'New Members' started by DeanT, 19 Jun 2009.

1. DeanT

DeanT Dean

Hi All
    i am currently in the Fresh Water fish catagory and looking to go salt some time.
    i had done quite a bit of reading , and picked up a few things here and there.
    i have been doing the fresh water fish thing for about 4 years.

my current tank is 200 x 60 x 60 cm with a overflow sump which is about 100 x 30 x 30 cm.
    from what i have gathered a protien skimmer , is a given and something that is probably the most important.

after that it seems to be live rock and a few other things.
    i am folllowing advice from around the forum and doing lots of hoemwork , before i decide to go all in.
    does anyone have any recomendatiosn in terms of what is needed and specific requiremens.
    what protien skimmers are the best to invest in . obviously i want to invest early and avoid the upgrade later option.
    also maintainace wise,, what are the costs involved.
    as mentioned in another post , the only advise i have is the LFS and the one around cape town will sell ice to an eskimo .
    any sugesstions and pointers will be gretly appreciated .
    thanks in advance to anyone who replies.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Boendoe

Boendoe

:welcometomasa2: You are in the correct place read and ask questions and take it slow.

Good size tank and sump you're already of to a good start.

Reeftek or Reef octo will do fine

Water changes with good quality salt like Instant Marine, I do a 20% weekly change and it keeps every thing very healthy (but you can get away with 20% every 2 weeks). Remember to use RO water not TAP water.

Check EVERY sing piece of advice from a LFS with the mebers of MASA. LFS will sell you anything even if you setup isn't ready for it yet. Do this and you will save your self a lot of money.

4. DeanT

DeanT Thread Starter Dean

Hi Boendoe
    thanks for the reply.