Hallo from Noob Valley

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Kharnyge, 28 Jan 2012.

1. Kharnyge

Kharnyge

Hey there guys...........so....ive been reading a lot about marine tanks the past week on this forum.....and today I bought myself a Boyu TL-450.I am a complete noob at this so Im taking this slowly.

Already the noob in me is showing cos like a dumbass I switched the heater on BEFORE the pump was on(didnt realise what I plugged in).........You can guess what happened next.....lol

So currently Ive got the pump running after I added some Bahamas Oolite live argonite reef sand...........going to let everything clear up nicely first.

So....Yes Ive probably did 20 things wrong already but im sure some of you guys will correct me and learn me some terminology so I dont sound like a complete idiot.....lol

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. 459b

459b Moderator MASA Contributor

Welcome to MASA!
    Don't worry about the heater I've done the same during a water change, kind of forgot to switch it off and only realized once I started smelling burning plastic.
    What you planning on keeping in the tank?

4. Kharnyge

Kharnyge Thread Starter

well.........want to get some live rocks in.....kinda want to get in pollups.torch and frogspawn.............thats just a few things ive seen and like.........livestock wise further along the line definitely some clowns and other small school fish that will go well with them.........and one of those boxer shrimps or something similar....lol

5. belindamotion

belindamotion Google Master

Welcome to MASA..I've got a TL-450..got 2 Nemos..1 Cleaner Shrimp and a Bi-Colour Blenny...word of advise..you will have a hard time keeping your temp down...try and do some LED Unit if you can...either that or get a EVA or Chiller...will Link EVA later as I'm on my cell and NOT doing a good job at texting hehee

6. Kharnyge

Kharnyge Thread Starter