Hallo fish world

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Louis Scheepers, 22 Feb 2010.

1. Louis Scheepers

Louis Scheepers

Hi everyone.

I have been following the MASA forums for quite a while now and decided that it is time to join...

I have been keeping tropical fish since I was in Gr. 10 (2001), but sold everything when I went to Varsity. I have always been interested in marines, but couldn't afford it. Last year June, I got the opportunity to take over my future-brother in-law's marine setup. Since I am still a student I don't have a lot of money to spend, so the tank is evolving very slow... but this is what I've got:

Main display: 122(l)x45(w)x65(h) 10mm glass (top bracing)
    Sump: 64x38x35 (4mm glass)

The filter is the old wet-dry trickle filter system, with bio-balls. I have an old Queen skimmer that is not the best, but it works fine. I also have a phospban reactor 150. Since I have a major algae problem, I built a DIY Coil Denitrator about 4months ago, and it seems to work very well.

I have 4x 39watt T5's that supply daylight from 12:30 till 20:00. And 2x 54watt T5's both actinic's on from 10:00 till 22:00.

I dont know how much life rock, but there are two big piles... probably 20kg?!?

Circulation is ok, with a 3000l/h return pump from the sump, and 3x 1000l/h powerheads in the tank.

Lifestock:

Fish: 1 clown, 1 pajama cardinal, 1 scopas tang.
    Corals: Green striped mushrooms, cladiellia coral, green and blue pollyps.
    Inverts: 2 Pacific Cleaner shrimps, 1 Red fire shrimp, 2 dwarf hermit crabs, 2 turbo snails.

The front glass of my tank is scratched quite badly, so I want to have that replaced (don't know where the best place is to buy glass). The cabinet is wood only, and since I dont trust that, I want to build a steel frame when the glass is being fixed.