Green Algae

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
Hi guys, I'm back - about time!

Have a problem. My tank is covered in this green algae. It looks almost like fine grass. It is all over the place. I do my water change religiously every week and pick out all the green stuff and within a day it's growing back again!!!

Even my poor hermit crab has it on his shell!

I also have a purplish bubble type of thing growing on one of my rocks.

Any help? PLEASE :confused::dft004:


Thanks
Mel
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
615
Location
Sandton
sounds like cyno
search the nuisance algae thread for removal tips
 

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
thanks alot. will have a look at the suggested links.
 
Joined
23 Aug 2008
Posts
4,095
Reaction score
68
Location
Honeydew, Johannesburg
Younds like derbesia if it's a fine hair like alga or bryopsis if its fern like in appearance. You clearly have a high nutrient problem which you have to get rid of. Products like prodibio will sort you out chop chop
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
A pic of your tank would identify the culprit, but in the mean time, are you using R/O water for your top ups? if yes where do you get it from? have you tested it for TDS?
 
Joined
23 Aug 2008
Posts
4,095
Reaction score
68
Location
Honeydew, Johannesburg
Where are you in SA. I have been using EM's or effective microbes to reduce my nitrates and will gladly help you with some if you're in Jo'burg
 

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
It is a fine hair-like algae. The bubble ones are a purplish group or two of things. I will try to post some pics later this afternoon before I do the water change.
 
Joined
23 Aug 2008
Posts
4,095
Reaction score
68
Location
Honeydew, Johannesburg
It is a fine hair-like algae. The bubble ones are a purplish group or two of things. I will try to post some pics later this afternoon before I do the water change.
Definately byopsis
 

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
A pic of your tank would identify the culprit, but in the mean time, are you using R/O water for your top ups? if yes where do you get it from? have you tested it for TDS?
Will post pics later. I do use RO water. Get it from Exotic Aquariums in Boksburg. All tests seem fine.
 

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
Where are you in SA. I have been using EM's or effective microbes to reduce my nitrates and will gladly help you with some if you're in Jo'burg
Thanks Tony. I'm in Henley on Klip.
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Will post pics later. I do use RO water. Get it from Exotic Aquariums in Boksburg. All tests seem fine.

Something is feeding your algae outbreak, we need to work out what and how it is getting in the tank, do you run a P04 remover?, when you say fine, what is the TDS of the R/O? what salt do you use? what do you feed and how often?
 

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
Something is feeding your algae outbreak, we need to work out what and how it is getting in the tank, do you run a P04 remover?, when you say fine, what is the TDS of the R/O? what salt do you use? what do you feed and how often?
I use Phosban. Salt water I buy from Exotic and they use Tropic Marine salt. I will have to check the RO water again to tell you exactly what it is. I feed flakes twice a day and mysis shrimp twice a week.

I have 3 fish, 1 hermit crab, 2 cleaner shrimp, 1 starfish in my tank. Those are all that survived when my tank crashed a while back.

Also, I very very rarely use RO water as I do the water changes every week and my water level never really gets low at all.

I only have a nano tank. Not very big.
 

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
I just did a phosphate test and the water in the test tube is clear! no colour to it at all - is that possible????
 
Joined
23 Aug 2008
Posts
4,095
Reaction score
68
Location
Honeydew, Johannesburg
The water is the problem then. You have to use RO water for top ups and water changes.

How much does Exotic charge for a litre which will be indicative of the salt they use?

What test are you using?

The phosphates and nitrates may be tied up in the algae or your test kit in inaccurate hence the zero reading
 
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
639
Reaction score
5
Location
Kimberley
Sorry to differ from you Tony but it rather seems to be hair algae to me. Mel does it look like this (Hair algae)?

IMG_0178.jpg


Or this (Bryopsis):

bryopsis1.jpg


Would it be possible that there is any metals leaching into your tank i.e. aluminum? If not using R/O (depending on where you stay) I would say that that would be you're nr.1 culprit!
 

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
The water is the problem then. You have to use RO water for top ups and water changes.

How much does Exotic charge for a litre which will be indicative of the salt they use?

What test are you using?

The phosphates and nitrates may be tied up in the algae or your test kit in inaccurate hence the zero reading
Exotic charges R2 per liter for salt water.

So you are saying that I am doing this all wrong?? When I asked them at Exotic they said I only use RO if my tank water evaporates alot before doing water changes and I only use salt water for water changes!!!!

I'm using the Tropic Marine PO4 test and I use Quick Dip Strips for the Nitrate Nitrite Alkalinity and PH.
 

Mel

Joined
25 Sep 2007
Posts
290
Reaction score
0
Sorry to differ from you Tony but it rather seems to be hair algae to me. Mel does it look like this (Hair algae)?

IMG_0178.jpg


Or this (Bryopsis):

bryopsis1.jpg


Would it be possible that there is any metals leaching into your tank i.e. aluminum? If not using R/O (depending on where you stay) I would say that that would be you're nr.1 culprit!
It defenitely looks like the first picture - hair algae - but I have tons more of it than there is in that pic.
No metals as far as I know, how do I check that? I stay in Henley on Klip which is in the Vaal Triangel.
 
Joined
7 Mar 2008
Posts
639
Reaction score
5
Location
Kimberley
Is it a ready mix you buy from them? If so I believe it will be R/O but just confirm for safety sake! Also would it be possible to get clean R/O from them for top-ups?
 

Top