Geoffrey's 4ft

Discussion in 'uncategorised' started by geoffrey, 4 May 2008.

  1. geoffrey

    geoffrey

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    found a tank:slayer: +- 340 l

    got it from angel. pretty sweet setup. gonna set it up next weekend! some serious FUN.


    few questions: 1) have an 8000l/h pump. would love to use it but im a bit scared it's too much as a return pump. was thinking about making the return pipe a "line" of powerheads at the bottom of the tank all blowing up onto the LR therefore no/few powerheads... make it out of PVC. what u think? oh and the tank has an overflow box in DT with a 50mm hole...

    2) got a 9watt uv steralizer. says its good for 200l. should i then leave it on permanently?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. All spark

    All spark

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I think 8000 is ok as long as your overflow can handle it,coz you do not want to flood the tank,wet carpets or wooden floor,eish...
     
  4. HenkHugo

    HenkHugo

    Joined:
    10 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Cape Town
    nice one! photos!
     
    Ocean likes this.
  5. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    wicked cool.
    just check if it works, some pumps are highly rated and can't pump very high(from sump to pump, they lose their oomf)

    don't use the sterilizer, it wil only be effective above 30W,needs to have a quart sleeve for marine systems
     
  6. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Good going Geoffrey, well done and welcome to a awesome hobby.

    1. 8000lph is quite high, I've got a 6000lph pump on a 520L system and I have to 'dump' some of the flow, so 8000lph could be a bit much but like Lanzo siad, check the rating at the headhight (height from sump water level to tank water level) of you system. I would not run return piping to bottom of the tank as it will act as a syphon pipe when the power goes off.

    2. There is a lot of contravercy on this, I personally would rather not use it, I believe fish get use to it helping and when it stops, all hell breaks loose....

    my 2c
     
  7. All spark

    All spark

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    ok now im not with you what do you use for return piping,,
     
  8. geoffrey

    geoffrey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    ah the siphon problem... well its a garden pond pump. height on pump says 1.5 m. ill check it out though. think ill just have to split the return and feed half back into my sump.
     
  9. geoffrey

    geoffrey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    will post pics when my tank arrives. i couldn't fit it into my citi golf :whistling:
     
  10. geoffrey

    geoffrey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    okay what is a quart sleeve? it says on the box that its suitable for marine tanks.
     
  11. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Quartz sleeve, needed to nuke the nasties .
     
  12. geoffrey

    geoffrey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    ah.will post a pic of the steralizer when it comes. but it says on the box its suitable for salt water. why not just use it and run it 24/7 (as it is ment for 200L not my 340L)
     
  13. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    1.5 might be a bit low, std tank is about 1m - 1.5m. that would mean you would almost loose all the flow, but check it out. like you siad, you can split the output using a vavle on the one going back to the sump.

    you can submerge the return pipe a bit, and make a small hole the the piping above the water level, a syphon break, it will suck air causing the syphon action to stop.
     
    Ocean likes this.
  14. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    Take note. Very messy
    Investigate closed loops. Sounds like the answer
     
  15. geoffrey

    geoffrey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    lIghty- yeah i though about that but u beat me to it... got all the glory!!:p

    will it be a good idea though. ie for water flow? to have my return pump acting as multiple powerheads?
     
  16. geoffrey

    geoffrey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    i have an internal overflow box (whats that even called?) with a hole drilled at the bottom of he tank. durso pipe 50mm should that handle it?
     
  17. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    that's exactly what's called, does the pipe just connect to the bottom, (ie. it will drain the overflow completely empty) or does the pipe extend up? 50mm should handle, I've got a 32mm down pipe and pushing about 4000Lph.
     
  18. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    What a question. Of course. Think of the benefits. The main one imo, your fish will not have this constant unnatural buzz in their ears

    I doubt it. Can you have an extra 50 mm drilled.
     
  19. geoffrey

    geoffrey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    no the pipe extends up to just before the overflow. gonna put a bend there to make a durso effort. reduce noise (Its a tall tank: 650h) which is nice.

    im gonna be transferring all the stuff from my current tank into this new one. any specific method to doing it. steps etc? have about 8.5 kg LR and 2 damsels. they can chill in my sump while i get things ready.
     
  20. geoffrey

    geoffrey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pretoria
    nah i dont think so. too little space in the overflow box. and it'll probably weaken the tank...
     
  21. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    You will have to test first. Any coral to take part in the move
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Geoffrey's Forum Date
Geoffrey's back Wanted 12 May 2011