Generator Questions....

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by TheTurk, 22 Aug 2014.

  1. TheTurk

    TheTurk

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Table view, Cape Town
    Hi guys, We don't really get much power outages here and when we do its mostly for 2 hours but i would rather be safe than sorry.

    I have an "akira em 4500dq" generator and would like to find out what else would i need to hook it up to my tank? I don't know much about generators but i know that with computers you have to run it through a UPS so it won't blow the PC?

    Would i need some sort of ups for the tank as well? I really don't want any of my equipment getting destroyed by the generator.

    Some specifications of the generator if that helps.

    Rated Voltage - 220V

    Rated frequency - 50 HZ

    Rated Output - 3.5KW

    Max Output - 3.8KW

    Rated Factor - 1.0
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ensure that the generator got ALB
    Automatic load balance.

    Mine does not have one, and the SunSun pumps, Seio powerheads and TS1 TS2 skimmer pumps do not like it. And the T5 units neither.

    Need to upgrade my generator soon. Currently I just unplug all of those items.
     
  4. BennieV

    BennieV

    Joined:
    17 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Centurion
    Hello Riaan , ek het nou ALB gegoogle op generators maar dit wys net neer op computer netwerke en switches
     
  5. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    What you looking for is a line filter or surge device protector
     
    TheTurk likes this.
  6. BennieV

    BennieV

    Joined:
    17 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ok, thank you Dallas
     
  7. TheTurk

    TheTurk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2014
    Posts:
    200
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Table view, Cape Town
    I went onto ellies website and they have a 12 Way Multi-Plug With Surge Protection. Will this work?
     
  8. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Yes and if you complete warranty they will cover up to R20k but you must get the one with surge warranty. Remember surge protection doesn't mean lightning
     
  9. BennieV

    BennieV

    Joined:
    17 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Centurion
    ok , atleast my multi plugs says surge protected. hope it helps
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Generator Questions Forum Date
[wtd] Ozone Generator Wanted 21 Oct 2016
[wtd] Closed Ozone Generator Wanted 16 Oct 2016
[wtd] Ozone Generator Wanted 4 Oct 2016
Why a Gyre generator and not a wave marker? http://www.jungleaquatics.net/#!onl... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 29 May 2015
Little Generator Power cuts 7 Dec 2014
UPS or small generator General Discussions and Advice 15 Jul 2013
Urgent help needed Generator to run Inverter Urgent Help Needed 1 Nov 2012