Generalised powerhead placement in reeftanks.

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by aslam, 3 May 2009.

1. aslam

aslam

Hello guy's,I know powerhead placement depends alot on the aquascape you have,that is,place powerhead's where ever you must to avoid deadspot's thus detritus cannot build up and is pushed to the overflow were it is filterred and removed.Now,I have recently seen alot of guy's place powerheads at the top of their tank's just below the waterline on opposite sides of their tank's.Would like to hear your view's.Thank's.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. ziyaadb

ziyaadb

tagging along

4. mike Bushie

mike Bushie

good question would also like to know the answer

5. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

Guys - I am NO expert - but here's my taking - you NEED to have enough water flow in the water tank - that the current on the inside of the tank, is extremely turbulent, and chaotic. The idea is that the water flow is like that of the sea - have an eb tide - a sway - left-and-right, left-and-right - as well as up-and-down, forward and backward......

If you can place your power-heads like this, you would have been able to achieve the perfect absolute.........

W.r.t detritus - this would be good if you can achieve this - but this is NOT the ultimate.......

Think of the sea.....

6. Allen

Allen

How do you move away from Turbulence to more of a swaying motion without having just the normal power heads and not wave makers or timers?

7. jacquesb

Allen - in the sea - you have BOTH - a turbulent, as well as swaying motion. The swaying motion, you achieve with a timer type thing - the turbulance - with a mixture of type of power heads, and a mixture of strength of power heards.... and difference placement of power heads...... ie. power-heads opposing each other - as well as cross-streams of power-heads (ie. power heads blowing a wide distributed stream of water, 90 degrees across the main streams of water.......

8. chikaboo

chikaboo