Genaral information needed complete beginner

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Mavirick, 8 Dec 2013.

1. Mavirick

Mavirick

Hi all firstly allot of really good info on this site thank you all

I am a complete newbie to to marine ive had fresh water for about 2 years now and got hooked

Please be patient with me

For a complete newby what is the best size tank to have for me I have a reasonably open budget so the price is not to much of a problem

Secondly I want a communal tank fish crustaceans and reef

If I should make a shopping list for a setup what will you recommend

Thanks to all in advance
    MAV

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Chris Makings

Chris Makings

HI @Mavirickmasahello

Firstly what Iwould suggest from own personal experince( I have not been in marines for that long yet) firstly get a tank as big as you can that budget would allow. I would say nothing less than 100lt, the bigger you go the more stable parameters would be. ANd once you get hooked you will always be looking to go bigger

Also get the biggest skimmer you can for your tank. Good quality live rock or Dead rock( if you use dead rock you would need to dose a bacteria to kick start your cycle)

ARe you going to have a sump?

Most inportant is purchase an RO unit, I have learnt that never use tap water in your tank.

If you go to the beginners section in the forum there is plenty of information there.

ANd dont forget photo of your build

Last edited: 8 Dec 2013
  4. Mavirick

Mavirick Thread Starter

Chris thank you so much

First of all im looking at 2.1m x 800 x 750 that I have the means of getting here is a pic of it that is not me in the pic haha

The tank has a internal filtration system hoever I want to run a proper sump under the tank