Fw Dsb

Discussion in 'Fresh Water Tanks Discussion' started by Copperband, 7 May 2007.

  1. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    I know someone is going to say who cares :pP but...

    Would a DSB work on a fresh water tank?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Copperband

    Copperband Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    any one??
     
  4. millepora

    millepora

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    867
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Just south of Durban
    Can’t see why it shouldn’t have the same filtration principals. Free water tanks don’t usally have sumps so the dsb would probably be in the main tank, which means no “diggers” aloud.
     
  5. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Agree with Milli, dont see why it shouldn't work.
     
  6. 2balive

    2balive

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    I over my head at the moment, done a "whole study" on it and yes it works, but with a lot of pro and cons. Will post it when I have a moment.

    I only know of one person (Peter) that have deployed it on a fresh water system (Discus breading setup).

    Will ask him to post here.
     
  7. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    I have asked this question as well before, and from what I gathered yes it will work but remember in a SW tank you skim out most of the nutrients that would normally get trapped in the DSB.
    If you do go ahead and do it keep us updated, would be keen to give it a bash.
     
  8. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Copper,

    Yes, it does. I have had a FW DSB in a mixed tank for over a year. Only thing though, as soon as you go planted aquarium, then remove the DSB as the plants need Nitrates.
     
  9. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Galibore wat did you for the DSB?
     
  10. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    I paid about R350 for a standard 3ft aquarium at the LFS. About R50 for two pieces of 4mm glass for a baffle to seperate return pump chamber from DSB. And about R30 for a tube of silicone.

    I bought two 30KG bags of play sand for about R20 each.

    And Violla, I DIY'ed.
     
  11. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Very interesting, ow long did you cycle it for?
     
  12. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    The setup has been running for over a year when I added the DSB, so it didn't really. Back then I had no idea that something like a cycle existed.

    When I learned a bit more about the role of bacteria in the aquarium, that's when I added the DSB. One thing I would have done differently, is that I would have added another compartment for heater and carbon reactor.

    Then I converted into a planted setup and I removed all carbon and the DSB and changed to a cannister filter.
     
  13. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Filter floss in te first compartment??

    mhh i think you just gave me a little project
     
  14. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    No, in my noob ignorance back then, I didn't plan for the filter floss. Realising this, I made a plan by having the filter floss in the same compartment as lift pump, seperated by an UG filter panel cut to size.

    I would suggest you draw your design before starting. It's not easy to change once you have 55KG of sand in your DSB...lol.
     
  15. 2balive

    2balive

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    Big problem with FW DSB's is that you do not have the critters to stir the sand. There is very few invertebra that will do this in fresh water. One potential is the malaysian borrowing snail, but keep a eye on their numbers, they can get out of control. You can also use "spaghetti eels" but they need feeding, so not sure if it is a good place for them.
     
  16. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Yes, that can be a problem. Apparently Hydrogen Sulphide (which is deadly) can form and kill your inhabitants. I never had that problem though. Possible because I vacumed the top of my DSB regularly.
     
Recent Posts