Furbz 250l

Furbz

Foxface
Joined
12 May 2008
Posts
2,272
Reaction score
21
Location
Sandton
hi guys finally got my tank up and running.
but gonna need some help with most things as i am new to this...
never cycled a tank before...

the tank is 250l acrylic

i have a 3cm playsand bottom.
9kg of LR
a small cushin star
urchin
2 damsels
a brittle star (brown with bands) not spikey
a blenny
one power head
i also have 7 hermit crabs (currently in geoff's tank as i dont have any food for them growing in my tank yet)
and an odd crab to... here is the link for the crab, trying to ID him.

Hairy crab!! - Invertebrates


and for my sump, i have a skimmer, phosphate remover, activated carbon, a new DSB(so far i seeded it with the old substrate i was given with the tank. got a couple of brissle worms and some sort of pollip i managed to find, the pollip disappeared tho. think it burried itseld in the DSB, a 2500l/h return pump with 2 nozzels in the display tank to act as powerheads...

hope that it goes smoothly!! looking forward to finding out what you guys think!


915483c1a3faeffb.jpg

915483c1a2cea937.jpg

915483c1a19a0bb9.jpg

915483c1a08e80b9.jpg

915483c19eef03bf.jpg

915483c19c27c2b5.jpg
915483c184aae894.jpg
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
Cool Furbz! So - you have some local Durbs fish in there, I see ;-)

Don't worry - they will help you cycle your tank. Was a LITTLE bit early to add life stock, BUT, as long as you don't add ANYTHING else for the next 2 months.... You tank should be OK.

Your sump also looks good!

Do you own testing kits? If not, get yourself some (ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, pH, salinity/SG - at the VERY least)...
Start testing the water once or twice a week for the next 8 weeks....

Then, once your water parameters all show 0 (and nitrates are as close to 0 as possible), then you can VERY slowly start adding some more life stock...
 

Furbz

Foxface
Joined
12 May 2008
Posts
2,272
Reaction score
21
Location
Sandton
i got the livestock with the tank and didnt really know what to do with it. so i put it in the tank...
i have a test kit, its a marine lab. it tests ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, pH, and alkalinity.
not sure how accurate it is tho...
everything is a bit up at the moment??
just gonna have to wait and see i guess...

as for the DSB, it is 17cm deep and i used playsand for it... the dimensions are 19cm deep by 32cm long.. is that big enough for my tank?? (250l)
 

Furbz

Foxface
Joined
12 May 2008
Posts
2,272
Reaction score
21
Location
Sandton
Date Ammonia % toxic Ammonia Nitrites Nitrates pH Alkalinity Temp Day 1 21-May-08 0.5 5.8 0.05 12.5 8 Normal 25 23-May-08 0.5 5.8 0.1 50
26 25-May-08 0.25 5.8 0.1-0.2 50 8.2 26
 

Furbz

Foxface
Joined
12 May 2008
Posts
2,272
Reaction score
21
Location
Sandton
my last check:
ammonia 0.25
nitrites 0.1 to 0.2
nitrates 0.50
pH 8.2
temp 25 to 26
 

Furbz

Foxface
Joined
12 May 2008
Posts
2,272
Reaction score
21
Location
Sandton
at what stage should i add macro algae? after the tank has cycled?
 

lanzo

Clarion Angel
Joined
10 Sep 2007
Posts
9,395
Reaction score
26
Location
Centurion
shot man, i'm glad you got it up and running, lekker deep sand bed you got(nice).

i'll put those two heaters in a chamber that won't be effected with water evaporation, you don't want to heaters to explode when water level drops;)
 

Furbz

Foxface
Joined
12 May 2008
Posts
2,272
Reaction score
21
Location
Sandton
will organise that... can i submerge the whole heater under water??
 

Furbz

Foxface
Joined
12 May 2008
Posts
2,272
Reaction score
21
Location
Sandton
thats just it tho. i'm not sure what it is... next time your round i'll show you. its hard to see. but if you look along the white dead coraline algae, where it stops growing... that where the opening is, or where it opens... its big. about the size of my large damsel.

in the bottom pic of the LR, its taking up about 40% of the photo.
its got good camo, as alot of crap has grown on it
 

Rory

Admin
Joined
5 May 2007
Posts
4,857
Reaction score
37
Location
JHB
will organise that... can i submerge the whole heater under water??
Um, your heaters should already be fully submerged. The thermostat is in the top part so it's probably measuring the air temp more than the water temp. Also you don't want the glass cracking because the top half is cold and the bottom half is warm.
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Looking good so far, but try to avoid adding livestock until the ammonia is zero nad the tank has fully cycled.
 

Similar threads


Top