Fuge questions

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Tim S, 12 Jul 2009.

1. Tim S

Tim S

Hi all,

I need some confirmation that I'm on the right track with my fuge. It started out as a drip filter and then while gathering info found this to be "out dated". The compartments measure in length as follows ; 300mm (sump for skimmer), baffle, 600mm (DSB); 120mm (for LR); 250mm (return sump). The total length is 1350, width is 350mm and glass height is 400mm.

I've added a pic but dont' now if it will show or where (yes i'm a newbie)

The compartment for LR, yes or no?

I also need to know more about LR. Being from CT can one "harvest" from the ocean or is this taboo?

Your comments appreciated

Cheers

Tim

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Warr7207

Warr7207

Firstly LR in Cape Town, won't do the job, regardless if it is legal or not.

You want very porous rock, that will encourage loads of bacteria growth. You will found the rock in CPT to be very dense.

A compartment for a DSB or LR compartment is a must. both is better.

Think of where you could grow macro algae and/or algae scrubber

Need to see your pics to get a better idea.

Click the link below for info on uploading pics in a thread.

How to post pictures using the Image Uploader - Forum Help

4. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

Warr is right - "live rock" originates from coral heads which have broken off the reef. Being of coral origin, the consist mostly of calcium carbonate, and are extremely porous, allowing water to move slowly into the interior of the rock, where bacteria will break down the ammonia / nitrite / nitrate in the water. The rock from Cape Town will be either sandstone or basalt, if memory serves. Both types are too dense, and will not allow the biological filtration to take place.

Hennie

5. Tim S

Tim S Thread Starter

Thanks chaps, you know your stuff.

Tim

6. Travis1

Travis1 (wilsontravy)

masahello

7. riyadhessa

riyadhessa

Tim Welcome to MASA

8. Tim S