Fresh fish.

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Krulle, 18 Mar 2010.

1. Krulle

Krulle

Hi there to all the marine aquarists. Thanks for this great site, already have learned alot!
    Just to introduce myself, here is a few things about me.
    I am living in Hermanus for all my life now and really diggs the sea. Hobbies is bodyboarding, kite surfing RC cars and anything with engines.

I have been keeping busy with a 100l tropical tank for quite a wile now but finally switched over to a marine tank. I am very exited about the change and defenitely need to work at patience. Something I never had but still going strong.

I have got myself a 250l tank with 120l sump with all the extras eg. skimmer, lights, power heads heaters and updraft pump. The tank is now in the cycling process for about a week and have introduced the tank with 1.5kg of live rock.... hehe and obviously sand with carbon activated particles. (Whatever that does) As I sed, I am new to marine.

Would like to find out if its a good idea to introduce live rock in the cycling process and what the best ways are in cycling the tank.

Thanks again for this great site and looking forward in chatting with all the other aquarists.

Regards,
    Jaco

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Singularity

Singularity Hmmm amper!

Welcome, what kind of skimmer, lights and power heads did you get ?

4. crispin

crispin

hello jaco :) well done on joining and getting your first post up :)

a 250l tank is great and nice that you ahve a sump and a whole stack of equipment, now just to check that its suitable equipment. Let us help you along and if you post the makes and model of the skimmer, return pump and internal pumps we can see if its all good :)

i was a little confused (dont worry its easy to confuse me) when you said that you have sand with carbon activated particles? Do you mean there is carbon mixed in with sand? or is it that you have aragonite and a section in the sump with activated carbon in it?