Fragging Zoa's to swop

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'd like to find out what the best options are wrt fragging my zoa's. My main objective is to swop them with other reefers for colourful zoa's and other softies (frags, of course). I'm planning on making frags of 2 or 3 polyps each, attached to a cement frag plug (properly cured, etc.). I'll then wait until the frags have grown a new polyp before swopping them. I am new to fragging, so I'd like to hear if this sounds ok or if I should rather do it differently?

Last edited:
2 or 3, too small.

at least 10.

Zoas polyps are small. And the size of a colony is relative. I think a colony is way more than 200 polyps where other may feel that 100 is. In my eyes up to 50 is still a frag.

If I frag I normally try to get 15 at least. Then I wait a couple months and let it recover and grow 10 or so more polyps and then I will sell. I have some frags that are 20 polyps that I still feel is too small to sell. Will wait a 2 months or so longer.

you can frag 3 onto a plug - but only if you're confident that you're fragging will be successful (ie: you're experienced with it). But the group will grow much slower and you wont be able to swap for as nice pieces. I would aim for between 3 & 6.

Zoas polyps are small. And the size of a colony is relative. I think a colony is way more than 200 polyps where other may feel that 100 is. In my eyes up to 50 is still a frag.

If I frag I normally try to get 15 at least. Then I wait a couple months and let it recover and grow 10 or so more polyps and then I will sell. I have some frags that are 20 polyps that I still feel is too small to sell. Will wait a 2 months or so longer.