For all you pic addicts, let me re introduce myself....properly

Discussion in 'New Members' started by magman, 8 Sep 2009.

1. magman

magman

I just wanted to thank all you guys on here, I have really learnt a lot on here in the short while I have been a newb........things that I would never of learnt with out all you and the input. Sometimes 10 newbs will all ask the same question in a day, but all on here have patience and have pleasure in helping.

Unfortunately when I first started up, I did not have acess to the forum, and had togo on the advice of my LFS, and he is a bit too old school and does not believe in DSB's etc, but he was always was willing to help, and I think us newbs can be more painful than an urchin inside an anemone.

I also owe lots to Sims, he is always an sms away.

Since being a member on Masa, I converted and put the DSB in!!! I did take a lot of the original big rock out as it was trapping the detrus, but also put about 10% new rock in.

In the pics, you will see the one of the bleached nemmie, I went against all the voices in my head and advice from the forum and bought a bleached nemmie. When I had actually bought it, it had come in the day before on a Singapore shipment, and the LFS was already selling it on a special!!! How is that for telling you not to buy. However though, why I bought I don’t know, but I persisted, somewhere in the first 3 days I actually tried to take it out 3 times as if it was dead, but evrytime there was still a bit more life. I persisted, feeding it 3 times a day on bits of pacific krill, I now am on little bits of chokka every 2nd day, it has improved greatly and I saw a little hint of purple in it yesterday. It has gained a bit more stickiness on the tenticles, and if pull it through, it would give me much more pleasure.

I really want to change the substrate and put argonite in, but I will rather let it settle after the DSB mods.