For All Newbies

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Slims, 22 Nov 2010.

1. Slims

Slims

Hi Guys

I am relatively new to the marine scene myself. It's been a year since i first got started. A stressful and expensive year! I want to share some of my experiences with all beginners out there so that they might learn from them.

I got given a tank by a friend. It was a FW tank that was used for SW. It had no overflow , had a HOB skimmer , a cannister filter and a couple of T5's with no sump. This guy was sold fish and corals by the LFS. Needless to say it all died.
    Looking at his success at reefkeeping(or his lack thereof) i decided not to take too much advice from the LFS. Instead I researched the hobby on the net. Forums like this one was the best source for hands on knowledge. 3 weeks after setting up the tank i replaced the cannister with a sump and overflow box , added more lights , got the water parametres stable and started stocking up.

Then it went horribly wrong. I got a fish that had whitespot (not visible when i saw it at the LFS) . This one fish infected my entire tank and i lost about 5 fish(R2000) in a week. LFS kept selling me different meds that were expensive but did nothing for the WS. Then the LFS sold me a Anemone - it lasted a month.This phase passed and I paid less attention to my tank not adding much and everything went well for the next 8 months. Then i moved and setup a new tank with the right equipment. And WS is back. I lost 5 fish in the last 5 days after adding a new PB Tang to my setup 2 weeks ago.

Here are a few points to remember:

1. Before spending a cent - RESEARCH. Knowledge is your best friend.
    2. Choose your equipment carefully. Ask for advice on this forum before purchasing.
    3. Spend as much money on a Skimmer.
    4. This is important... Set up a Quarantine tank at the same time as your display tank. If you don't you will regret it. Bear in mind that LFS don't quaratine their fish.