Flushing RO Unit

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Andreas, 21 Nov 2008.

  1. Andreas

    Andreas

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    How long do I need to flush my Deltec RO unit for?I've used it for about 1.5 months now.

    Thanks:)
     
    Last edited: 21 Nov 2008
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    flush it for 15 seconds
     
  4. Andreas

    Andreas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    That's it?So put it on and then close the waste water tap for 15 seconds?
     
  5. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,984
    Likes Received:
    779
    I normally flush mine for a few minutes every time before I use it, switch it on, make a cup of coffee, go for a wee-wee then come back and close the bypass valve.

    RO's with new filters and membranes however need much longer flushing time.
     
  6. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    yip or you can do what viper does.;)

    just rember to flush a new ro unit without the membrane and then fit the membrane after flushing( this is to get most of the particals out of the micron filter and carbon into the drain and not into the membrane)
     
  7. martin

    martin Reef Adict

    Joined:
    8 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    397
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Faerie Glen Pretoria
    Is the coffee and wee wee compulsory or will it work with skipping these, I take it if your unit is very dirty then you have a cupachino and a #2???
     
  8. Andreas

    Andreas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    :lol:

    Thanks guys advice taken:)
     
  9. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,984
    Likes Received:
    779
    lol @ Martin :tt2:

    The amount of times I have switched the RO on, start flushing it, then 3 hours later realise OMG, the RO unit is still flushing....needless to say the RO drum has got 1 litre of water in it and the swimming pool is almost overflowing. :p
     
  10. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    14,540
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    thats if yoremember it the same ay.. i ustoforget mine overnight... could fill a swimming pool:)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Flushing Unit Forum Date
RO unit flushing Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 19 Mar 2013
[wtd] RO unit wanted Wanted 26 Nov 2016
[wtd] Broken or unused led unit Wanted 21 Nov 2016
[wtd] R.O. Unit Wanted 29 Oct 2016
[wtd] ATI 6 or 8 bulb 39w unit Wanted 17 Oct 2016
RO unit waste water used for freshwater aquarium? General Discussions and Advice 7 Oct 2016
Decent 24w 2 bulb t5 unit? Lighting 5 Oct 2016