Flow while cycling?

moz

Chromis
Joined
30 Jul 2007
Posts
638
Reaction score
4
Location
Port Elizabeth
How much flow do I need while cycling? I had quite good flow but due to what I think is an electrical problem I made some changes which results in a lot less flow, I still have water movement throughout most of the tank, but not that much.
 

Alan

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
5,974
Reaction score
123
Location
KZN
That should be fine Moz, as long as you get the flow back up before you start adding live stock.
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Before you add any live stock, you will need to get your tank flow to around 20x volume (a rough guide, lots more for sps perhaps less for fish only)
You need to calculate by taking the water volume then add up all the ltrs per hour of your powerheads and divide the total powerhead volume by the tank volume.
I.e. 1000 litre tank volume.
4 powerheads at 5000 litres per hour = 20,000ltrs per hour
20,000
1000 = 20 times turn over,
It's worth noting that as you add liverock and corals your flow will be slowed so you may need to increase your powerheads as you go.
 

leslie hempel

Sponsor
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
17,088
Reaction score
1,012
Location
Gonubie East London
ouch thats hash...
 

moz

Chromis
Joined
30 Jul 2007
Posts
638
Reaction score
4
Location
Port Elizabeth
Ignoring posts 4 and onward, thanks for the advise, I’ll defiantly be adding some more powerheads before I stock the tank, just threw in what I had when I main pump starting giving me problems, at the moment flow is about 3-5x volume.
 

Ocean

Lazy Sea Slug
Joined
14 Nov 2007
Posts
1,217
Reaction score
8
Location
CT
Witch is better having 2 big powerheads or 4-6 smaller ones?

I would go for maybe one bigish one and a few smaller ones.
i would go for all small then you have more spead of water flow
thats my 2 cents worth
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
i would go for all small then you have more spead of water flow
thats my 2 cents worth
You would certainly get even flow with lots of smaller p/h's but if you have a, say 2m tank, you will still need a decent size p/h just to move the water about, my 2m will have 4 deltec 6080's (8000lts/p/h) and an eheim 1260 as a return and that i think will still be quite tame compared to some.
i think good flow is better than high flow, the flow needs to go round/in/under/over your rock work to stop deadspots etc
So i would say that you need to look at your tank and try to work out what you will need to schieve good flow
 

DragonReef

Yellow Tang
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
2,600
Reaction score
2
Location
Durban, ZA
Hey Fireshrimp, welcome to MASA.
 

Ocean

Lazy Sea Slug
Joined
14 Nov 2007
Posts
1,217
Reaction score
8
Location
CT
Thanks DragonReef
 

Similar threads


Top