Floor strong enough - any civils?

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by AdrianTregoning, 20 Dec 2011.

1. AdrianTregoning

AdrianTregoning

I'm a mechanical engineer, not a civil, so I thought I'd bug you guys :) A standard household floor (this is a ground floor place), do you think it would easily handle a weight of 2000kg? Transfered through six points, obviously with a decent base plates.The floor has a roughly 30mm thick coating throughout, like a fine pebble finish. If need be I'll cut that out to put the system on bare concrete which would be underneath. I'm going to contact the manufacturer of the finish to find out the compressive strength of that covering anyway..

I was wondering, because I read of the user 'Reef Maniac' from Bloem having his tank burst... I'd imagine a very solid stand evenly distributing the forces would nullify any slight movements from the floor. I don't know, I don't know my civils too well :blush: Any ideas? My gut tells me the floor will be fine and I'm wasting your time, but probably without resting it on the existing floor. But I'd rather check, just to be sure. :whistling: By the way, the floor looks like this:

[​IMG]

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Floor should be fine
    2000kg by 6 legs is 333kg per leg. On a base plate. No problem

Family sized sedan say 1600kg is 400 kg on basically the same footprint than you would get when the tank stand on base plates.

4. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

Good advice and nice analogy

5. seank

seank

Surface beds- if done correctly, is suppose to be 20 mPa (in light Residential) with an 85 mm Thickness, and should have REF 193 mesh for plastic shrinkage. (But then again, you never know who did the build, and if They did follow specs.