Float switches.

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by garrethm, 3 Sep 2014.

  1. garrethm

    garrethm

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2014
    Posts:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    JHB
    Does anyone know where to get float switches at a good price in JHB
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
  4. garrethm

    garrethm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2014
    Posts:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    JHB
    Thanks will give them a shout
     
  5. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    I would rather use 12V. It bites a lot less than 220V
     
  6. garrethm

    garrethm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2014
    Posts:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    JHB
    Agreed, going to DIY an atu. Much prefer this than 220v straight into the sump
     
  7. Johanbester3

    Johanbester3

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2013
    Posts:
    334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boksburg
    I've got a few float switches , bought from ebay , 12v , think they are rated for 1A , let me know if
    you are interrested.
     
  8. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    sure, put a 12V switch on a 220V pump, then call me
     
  9. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    relays...
     
  10. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    ah ha needed to add that in the same sentence, would hate a speed reader to make a small mistake like that
     
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    oops, ok, agree, will be a shocking learning experience.
     
  12. garrethm

    garrethm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2014
    Posts:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    JHB

    Hi there Johan

    How many do you have. I'm looking of at least 3. What price
     
  13. lourensmocke

    lourensmocke

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2014
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Centurion
    tagging
     
  14. Johanbester3

    Johanbester3

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2013
    Posts:
    334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boksburg
    @Grr , I should have at least 3 , let me check and confirm tonight , if you have a frag , its more
    than welcome , suffered some losses over the weekend with a two day power outage . :(
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  15. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Yes.
    R30 each.

    Not in JHB.

    By CW (ME) haha

    But im in vdbp
    How many do you want. I might still have 6 or so
     
  16. Johanbester3

    Johanbester3

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2013
    Posts:
    334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Boksburg
    @Grr, still have 5 available
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  17. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Ja johan is closer to you but if your coming this side id also take any frags you have cos i started a new tank.
    So dont have anything yet.
     
  18. lourensmocke

    lourensmocke

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2014
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Centurion
    Hi @CW

    Can I dibs 3 of your switches? Are 12V or 220V?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  19. 4age

    4age

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Cape Town
    [​IMG]

    R200 with a pump included
     
  20. garrethm

    garrethm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2014
    Posts:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    JHB
    Thanks guys,
    Johan still busy setting up the new tank so nothing to trade as yet :eek:
     
  21. CW

    CW

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark

    Cool
    Ive just used it with 3-6v relays and cell chargers. Havent used it on 220v cos its not so wize to do so.

    For R30 each or do you have coral for me?
    Or fish. hehe

    here is the switches. Ive got 6 left

    [​IMG]
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Float switches Forum Date
Reef Angel (mounting float switches) Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 29 Aug 2016
Float Switches Wanted 16 Feb 2016
Float switches Anything DIY Related 10 Aug 2012
Float switches ► Sponsor Request Forum 31 Dec 2011
Faulty Float switches Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 11 Dec 2010
Bubble Magus ATU Float Valves Majestic Pets Solutions 28 Sep 2016
Floating Reef (How????) General Discussions and Advice 28 Jun 2016