Float switch

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by gigman333, 20 Nov 2007.

  1. gigman333

    gigman333

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jhb
    hi all
    just wondering where i might find float switches around gauteng area
    phoned irrigation shops but i think they only do big ones for boreholes
    any help would be app..

    many thanks
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    dude.try eco aquatics.he's got some awsome units available.around R450.00 i think.well worth it.and im sure he will ship
     
  4. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Mek, I think Gig is talking about the float switch only. They sell for less than R100 at electrical places.

    Gig, after DIY'ing mine and seeing what is available. If I could do it over, I would get the all in one jobbies that I suspect Mekaeel is talking about. They usually come with controller, pump, plumbing and and everything you need in a neat unit. But of course you pay for it.
     
  5. gigman333

    gigman333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jhb
    thanks galibore
     
  6. MyKey

    MyKey

    Joined:
    6 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midrand
    gig I've got 2 float switches that i wanted to use but never got round it. pm me your number and i'll send you a picture tonight so you can see if you interested
     
  7. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    If you only gonna use one, then Viper was also looking for one a while back.
     
  8. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    Thanks Galibore, yeah, MyKey, if you have one left over I will gladly buy it from you.
     
  9. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Just another FYI: I found 12 Volt float switches (separate and complete units) at a boating shop here in Cape Town.... Sure that there must be boating shops all around the country? Right? I know - being 12 V - one would have to use an inverter as well....
    BTW: the complete pump/float-switch units here at the boating shop went for R360.
    (Must still buy one).
     
  10. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Jacques is it the same type of float switch thats on the SAGA units?
     
  11. Rod

    Rod

    Joined:
    18 May 2007
    Posts:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Krugersdorp Gauteng
    Why not use a relay?
     
  12. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Mekaeel. I must apologize - I have no idea what the SAGA units are. BUT, there are different float-switches - one is a square float, connected on the one-side in a pivotal manner to the electronic sender unit, and when the float moves up, it switches either off or on (and moving downwards switches the opposite - this will most likely depend on how you connect it).... The other type of float-switch is "built-in" - i.e. a round float moving on a shaft where the shaft either closes the switch at the top of the unit, or opens the switch....

    Rod - can you please elaborate on your entry: "why don't you use a relay"??

    Many thanks.
     
  13. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Jacques the SAGA floatswitches looks like this
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Marco has some in stock.the same as the above.R100.00.heres the number 0828793943
     
  15. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks, Mekaeel. Don't you use those with some sort of computer or controller?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Float switch Forum Date
Reef Angel (mounting float switches) Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 29 Aug 2016
Float Switches Wanted 16 Feb 2016
Float switch sticking Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 16 Feb 2016
Float switch atu vs optical atu Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 4 Dec 2015
[wtd] Decently priced auto topup or mechanical float switch Wanted 6 May 2015
[wtd] ATU Float Switch Bracket Wanted 24 Apr 2015
Float switch attachment/holder Anything DIY Related 21 Oct 2014