Fishcrazy did an upgrade

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Fishcrazy, 4 Nov 2014.

1. Fishcrazy

Fishcrazy

Hi
    I'm new to the forum and cant wait to read up on all the advice and knowledge from you all!

I've upgraded over the weekend form a 32L tank to a 205L tank. Still running both. I've had my small 32L tank from January 2014 to see if I can manage a marine tank. I've been doing tropical for the past 27 years.:m03:

My tank is 910*325*500mm 3 sides viewable, the stand is high with everything else under it. Sump/refugium is 60L with a DSB and bio-cubes. Protein skimmer is homemade. The return is via a 25mm pipe on a 3000L pump, with a 25mm drain pipe. The lighting is 2 (1 white + 1 blue) marine glow lights suspended about 12cm above the tank in the canopy. I also have a home made phosphate/carbon reactor. I will take photo's and post soon.

All the fish, Hammer coral, Long tenticale anemone and Magnificent anemone is in. Oh I forgot to say I bought the tank over from a friend.

Now regarding the lights.... how long must it be on? And must both lights be on at the same time?

My NO3 is high and would like to do the Vodka dosing thing. Must I start with 1ml or 2ml a day for the first 3 days?

Thanks for all the help!

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Welcome to the forum. :)

Generally lights are kept on between 8 and 12 hours a day.

Are those T8 lights? I'm afraid you're going to need more and stronger lights for the anemone's to flourish. I would recommend at least 4 good quality T5 lights. :)

4. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Hello and welcome

So your display before displacement holds about 140L. Doubt if that is big enough for both those anemones, unless you run carbon.

5. Fishcrazy

Fishcrazy Thread Starter

I'm not sure, I think T8. I will look tonight. The tank ran 3 years, before me with the anemone's in on the same lights.

6. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Cool :thumbup:

7. 4age

4age