Fish for tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Marine4Life, 5 Aug 2008.

1. Marine4Life

Marine4Life

Hi All

I am very new to this hobby. I am currently having my tank built and in the process of setting up.

I am building a 1.2m x0.6m x0.6m tank.

I see that Mekaeel have the fish i want to keep in my tank, a sailfin tang, yellow tang and clown trigger. My question is will my tank size be ok to keep these 3 fish with some other small ones as i see he has those fish in his 1mx1mx0.6m new cube

What is everyones opinion?

Thanks
    Michael

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Alan

Alan Admin MASA Contributor

Hi Marine4Life, welcome to MASA. My personal opinion is the tank you are planning will be too small for these fish esp the Clown Trigger that can grow into an awsum predator, some are lucky to get away with them not attacking other fish for others it ends in disaster. If you are wanting to keep predators please consider a larger system.

4. scubaninja

scubaninja

Hey michael, welcome to masa, yellow tang is very territorial isnt it? I was by flohs the other day and the one there killed its inmate, seriously aggressive. Maybe skip it..?:razz:

5. Mike

Mike Retired Moderator

Welcome to MASA Micheal, it may help to know that Mekaeel is a very experienced fish keeper, one that knows and understands the risks of keeping certain fish together, i would say that you should start with simpler, hardy fish and learn how to look after them first, then progress to more difficult species.
    I recently saw a 14inch clown trigger in a local fish shop.

6. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

I think Mekaeel is just temporarily housing those fish until his bigger tank is up and running.

But yeah, definitely not a good idea to have tangs in a small tank.

7. Ocean

Ocean Lazy Sea Slug

I would but thats just me, i have a little experince in fish.

8. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator