Fish, crabs, prawns and softies?

Discussion in 'Livestock For Sale/Swap' started by robski, 9 May 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robski

robski

Hi everyone..

I starting out in this, and just put water and some LR into my tank today!

I have a 128 l BOYU nano (i think), like Quinton's old tank.

So i am looking for some softies, fish, crab, prawns for my tank..

what do you guys recommend for a tank of my size..

oh, im a student, so please dont rip me off, lol..

thanks

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Quinton

Quinton Smarty-pants Newbie

Good tank choice dude! ;-)

Start slow with the livestock. Clean-up crew is a good place to start. A couple of cleaner shrimps (these really are great!), a few hermit crabs, and a few snails. Most LFS will sell you these (including Sam). The shrimps typically go for around R70 ea, crabs and snails around R20 ea. Come to think of it, shrimps should perhaps wait until a bit later - not too sure. Mine have been with me since the beginning, but I may just be lucky.

Then follow the guidelines at the link provided above. You should wait a good 4-6 weeks, and until the nitrogen cycles have completed, before adding any fish or corals - read up lots about this, and be patient. Get test kits to measure amonia, nitrites, nitrates, and pH as a bare minimum intially. And a refractometer to measure salinity. Later on you'll need test kits for phosphates, alkalinity/KH, calcium, and perhaps magnesium.

Keep us posted!

Q

4. Quinton

Oh! And you should try to come to the Cape Town Reef Club meeting next weekend. See this thread for details:

CTRC meeting 2 - Local Reefing Clubs and Associations

Please ignore the silly argument towards the end of the thread - some people don't realize that life to short for that sort of rubbish ;-)

5. Quinton

6. robski

robski Thread Starter

thanks Quinton, i will definately be at the meeting is possible.