First timer help and advice needed

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Mozzie, 26 Apr 2016.

1. Mozzie

Mozzie

Hello all, OK I'm new to this and am dreaming of owning my own pice of ocean....I know nothing except the pretty pictures in my head. I've seen a nice size tank 1.6 x 680 x 680, nice cabinet, Galvo steel frame and 3 ft built in sump and corner over flow for what seems like a fair price, R 1500 ( about to pull the cash out my wallet) .
    So today I go to a well known marine pet shop / supplier and what they recommend to get a tank of this size running came in just under 50k...yip that's not a miss print...50k.... Really 50k for some plastic bottles, pumps,filters, rock, lights etc. Now my question is, is this really the price to set up a tank of this size?
    OK after my questions and being scared out the store and trying to save some of my man hood and dignity I left the store knowing no more than when I walked in.
    Please can some one suggest what items are needed to start up such a tank ( not live rock, tank, sand and fish, I've learnt that every tank needs these lol) like the necessary items, the basics.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. TaahirS

TaahirS MASA Contributor

Lights
    Skimmer
    Return pump
    Wavemakers
    Maybe some reactors depending on how you want to run your system.
    Filter socks if you want
    Possibly a Doser if you keep lots of hard corals and need to dose elements
    RO machine
    Salt bucket

There isn't really a set rule to what you need, everybody runs their tank differently. It depends alot on what you would like to keep.

Last edited by a moderator: 8 May 2016
  4. EFJ

EFJ MASA Contributor

masahello

Hi and welcome to the scary world of marines. Ok the basics are obviously a tank, lights, powerheads, skimmer, heater and return pump.

5. Mozzie

Mozzie Thread Starter