First Time Marine Tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by SmellLikeFish, 8 Apr 2018.

1. SmellLikeFish

SmellLikeFish

Hi all ,

I Stay in Southern Suburbs, Cape Town and Im currently studying at UCT. Im trying to keep the budget low however do realise im going to have to spend to get started.

Looking at setting up a 60L tank without a sump. I have been doing some reading but obviously would like some more input and will be asking lots of questions.This is my first marine tank and would like to get the cycle started soon. Does anyone have any live rock for sale ? I also still need to get substrate but would also like input on this please ?

I look foward to chatting to everyone on the forum and learning from you.

Thanks In Advance

2. Guest

3. Dian6430

Dian6430

Welcome man. What equipment are you planning to run? Whats the size of the tank?

4. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Hello and Welcome @SmellLikeFish

Perky Pets are in the southern suburbs.

5. OP
    SmellLikeFish

SmellLikeFish

Hi @Dian6430 ,Thanks for the reply. Ive been doing some research but for now I have a 100watt heater and a clip on pump I bought recently.I added some photos. I still need to either get a small wave maker or a small powerhead pump for current.

Ive been watching some youtube videos and most of the guys with nanos are just running a filter similar to mine and are doing weekly water changes and are adding a carbon into the water , I think Im going to try this ?
    Thoughts ?

My Tank is 60cmx30cmx45cm.

Another question is how could I get my tank cycled faster ? Water from an existing tank ?

@RiaanP Hi , thanks will go have a look there.

image.jpg

image.jpg

6. Dian6430

Dian6430

Sorry i really have no knowledge running a marine tank with the above mentioned equipment. Those look like freshwater equipment

7. Keshen

Keshen Nano Addiction