first sps

Discussion in 'SPS Corals' started by mupwi, 20 Jun 2011.

  1. mupwi

    mupwi

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban South Africa
    Hi I got my first sps coral a monti frag on friday didn't realise it was an sps at the time. I know should have checked first anyway I got it home and acclimatised it over about an hour then placed it at the highest place in my rock work.

    I'm just concerned now I might not have enough lighting for it. I have 2x54W t5's and 2x 36w t8's which are about 5-8cm above the water level and the monti is siting about 10cm below the water level directly below the t5'swill this be enough for it.

    Ive been doing some reading and from what I understand montis are one of the easier more forgiving sps corals to keep but just need to know if I need to let one of my mates babysit it till I get some better lights or if it will survive in my current setup
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. preshan

    preshan <img src="/images/ecrccom.gif">

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Durban
    hi mupwi your lighting sound's sufficient Monti's don't require very intense lights
    just make sure you calcium magnesium and alk are within range including phosphates and nitrates ,generally monti's will survive with higher phosphates and nitrates but wont colour up properly
     
  4. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    Agree 100%. As long as you replace your T5's yearly you should be fine. It would be a good idea to think about changing the T8's to T5's at some stage, it would be much better for your corals in the long run.
     
  5. mupwi

    mupwi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban South Africa
    I have seen that there is a lot of push for t5 over t8 why is this I was going to put in more t8's as I worked out I could get about 4 or more times the lumens for the same price granted I would have to use 1.5x as many tubes so space might become a problem what other advantage is there to t5?
     
  6. durleo

    durleo

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    durban
    There are a wider array of T5 tubes available and colour options. They also are more efficient than T8 and more compact - I think those are enough reasons!
     
Recent Posts