Fiji live rock, you sure??

Discussion in 'Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds' started by deadmeat2016, 8 Jul 2013.

1. deadmeat2016

deadmeat2016 Wouter

I hope You all are not sick of me yet, dropping doubt and raising hairs!!

Just thought I would share my insight into the whole 'Fiji live rock' dream or distribution business, whichever term makes you feel better. I am not attacking any live rock from any shop as I have not bought live rock for 5 months and never bought kilos anyways. But I am a geologist so you see a rock with living stuff on, I see a bit more than rock and can distinguish between a rock of actual good quality which is hard coral skeletons of fairly young age, which are aragonite! a form of calcium carbonate, classed as a biosediment.

Now the rock most desired has the natural porosity of the coral skeletons preserved which serves as perfect home for bacterial colonies as the porosity allows for growth into the depths bla bla bla. The trick here is how to distinguish between young, lightly compacted biosediment, and older more compacted biosediment which contains mudstone and silts, but more importantly the porosity is not preserved at all and the rock is........well, is only good for the life covering it, there is no space for any growth inside the rock so is not very useful, with the increased density would also make a soccer ball sized chunk of rock weigh at least 3 times more than the actual desired rock, making it an awesome scam idea, sell it as fiji but imported as junk basically, big profits!! I do stress, I am not attacking or referring to anyone who sold me 'fiji' as I would never have bought it, but I have seen some places taking amazing chances with 'special' live rock, the worst I've seen is a shop trying to pass a piece of granite off as Kenyan, but rest assured they are long gone and good riddance.