Failsafe Syphon

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by Copperband, 10 May 2007.

  1. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    Guys as you know i converted a discus (aka canister filter) tank to my marine setup. After the skimmer oops a few days ago i installed a sump but nobody really wanted to drill holes in a tank full of fish and water.

    So here's the solution:

    This is a permanent syphon, add water to the main tank to the precalculated level and the syphon flows, if there is a power failure the syphon stops. When pumping starts again the syphon does its work. I got this idea from Derek Low who got it from ................ ad infinitem.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Copper, I had exactly the same contraption in my FW setup. They don't work. Do yourself a favour and toss it. You will end up spending more money on replacing carpets than anything else.
     
  4. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    I know where the idea comes from. To a newby it seems like a clever solution. But in fact it's not well thought through at all.
     
  5. Copperband

    Copperband Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    Gil, it works i've tested it over and over again...pump off syphon stops...so it works..i'm not going to use it on my new tank
     
  6. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    But soes it start again when the return pump starts up.
     
  7. Bob the (reef)builder

    Bob the (reef)builder

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Joburg
    They work fine, they will remove as much or as little as you throw at them, within there size limits. But they can fill with bubbles, becoming less and less effective, and potentially failing.

    Water on carpet can be inevitable if not fine tuned and monitored regularly.
     
  8. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    My bad, then I apologise. Mine never worked (starting up again after power out), not even a bit.
     
  9. Copperband

    Copperband Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane

    Bob i test mine weekly and also block to outlet for a few seconds to get any air out. Yet still to have any issues, but i'm sure i will.
     
  10. Copperband

    Copperband Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    The secret to this system is the T piece on the left - water flows in trough the top and also side - when the return from the sump stops - it will drain to the level of the vertical part of the T - suck air and break the syphon.

    The rest of the assy stays full of water to below the horizontal part of the T.

    When the return pump starts up again the level rises within the U section until a syphon starts again. Actually works very well have used it to connect 2 sumps together when I ran my surge tank - this was to accommodate possible overflow and it ended up saving a flood a few times.[​IMG]

    The balance does take a bit of fiddeling to get right but can be done.

    Quote from next door.
     
  11. Copperband

    Copperband Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    Rod this is your design, plz explain when you get a moment.
     
  12. Rod

    Rod

    Joined:
    18 May 2007
    Posts:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Krugersdorp Gauteng
    They work vey well. Perhaps a little tweeking? They need to be primed.
     
  13. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Rod,

    I did prime mine. Not sure what you mean by tweaking. Whenever my return pump came back on, the tank overflowed and I was in shit by my wife.

    But it was back in my noob days of overflows so it was probably just my dumbassness...:lol:
     
  14. Copperband

    Copperband Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    ok I'm the last one EVER to admit failure but I just couldn't get the failsafe working properly, so this morning I got a Octo syphon overflox box. What a relief!! The thing works properly it feeds water to the sump at about 2000L per hour. I'm really happy with this product!!

    [​IMG]
     
  15. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    how much did you have to spring for it?
     
  16. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    At least you tried, nice piece of equipment that, looks fairly well built.
     
  17. Copperband

    Copperband Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    Sims it was about R800 and a couple of loose ones..

    Dean its really nifty and easy to prime and hell it works, I've been trying for 2 weeks to get the sump working properly and the live stock were taking strain, no lets suck it and see..
     
  18. DragonReef

    DragonReef

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban, ZA
    CB once it's primed can you set and forget ? Will it start the siphon everytime ?
     
  19. millepora

    millepora

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    867
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Just south of Durban
    Yes Anthony it does work very well. I put one on Marco’s cousin’s tank (Perdro) over a year ago and its still working perfectly.
     
  20. Copperband

    Copperband Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    Yes it auto starts after power failures, i was really impressed by the flow this little thing had.
     
  21. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    DR, I can jump in here. Yes it does. I had a video of a similar one (by Melev) but can't find it now. Works like a bomb.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Failsafe Syphon Forum Date
syphon break help plz Beginner Discussions 5 Mar 2015
return syphon Beginner Discussions 23 Feb 2012
Reverse Syphon General Discussions and Advice 29 Jun 2011
To syphon or not? Beginner Discussions 14 Nov 2009
Return Syphon Break Pumps and Waterflow 25 Jul 2009
sump overflow/syphon idea General Discussions and Advice 5 Feb 2009
Overflow Box - how to initiate the syphon Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 26 Nov 2008