Evaporation and top-up advice

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by rakabos, 11 Aug 2010.

  1. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Hi guys

    I have a 270L(display) + 100L(sump) setup. I wanted to figure out a way to do an auto top-up.

    Thing is the tank is in the living room and the reservoir would be in the garage. So i would run thick tubing up the garage wall, into the roof, and down the wall in the living room. The questions i have...

    What strength pump will handle this? Its about 12m or so distance and rising up 3m or so up to the roof. Secondly is there a auto top up system that can handle this kind of setup?

    Appreciate any ideas...
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    ato system dose not need to pump fast large volumes of water.
    you will need a pump that can do about 500l/h at 3m. the pipe also dose not need to be thick only strong enough to go the distance if there is no suport.where in the sump are you placing your ATO?is the garage behind the wall of the dinning room and below it?
     
  4. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Hi

    I only mentioned thick pipe so as to not worry about it breaking and messing in the roof. The garage is adjacent to the livingroom but on the far end of the living room. The sump is under the display tank in a cabinet type setup
     
  5. AfricaOffroad

    AfricaOffroad

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ballito, KZN
    Can your top up system run under gravity alone?
    If so, a level sensor controlling a small solenoid valve will work like a charm.

    Dont make the RO reservoir too big because of the sensor fails it could flood and dilute your whole system
     
  6. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    i have a similat setup i cumstom built a 25l topup tank(limited space in my sump area) and added a ato that i got from idol marine only fill it up about once every 10days

    HOW big a topup resivour you plan on making?
     
  7. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Well i have a nice 50L drum i can use. I am adding a tap to the garage to which i will connect the RO unit.How much did you pay for the ato?
     
    Last edited: 11 Aug 2010
  8. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    nope will have to pump it
     
  9. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    From what ive researched so far a DIY ato is easy to do if the sump is next to the reservoir, my problem is that its in another room. Apart from just manually pumping water from the reservoir and waiting for thw wife to scream STOP im unsure as to how i could automate this
     
  10. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    at the time it was like R650 but it had a pump float switch and mounts piping and electricals. but i dont think this pump will work for your hight
     
  11. neo

    neo

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    do you need the reservoir to use the RO water for something else ?
    if not you can use 2 float switches in your sump connected in serie, one is the main and the other is the reverse in case the first one gets stuck, you hook it up to a solenoid which sits on the supply to your RO unit, you then pipe the RO unit's outlet to your sump.

    When water drops the float will switch on the 24volt to the solenoid, this then will allow tap water into the RO unit which in turn allows RO water into your sump, the second float must be positioned as to cut the 24volt supply if the water rises to much.
     
  12. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    Remember an RO unit TDS when left off goes up!

    Just get an RO pump 24V one - It is high pressure low flow. speak to Adriaan at Idol it works like a bomb.
     
  13. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Sounds so simple but im clueless when it comes to electronics. Can i pay you to do it! :p
     
  14. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    this is a trerrific idea :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: 11 Aug 2010
  15. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Can you explain more clearly how this would work ?
     
  16. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    Here is a pic of my top up system

    Pump next to reactor with Kalk in it - also one never should just put pure RO water in a tank - PH is different

    [​IMG]
     
  17. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    vatso where dose the water feed to the pump from?
     
  18. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    I am using a 100Lt tank filled with RO water before i had a profilux I used to keep a 20Lt bucket full with RO - had to top the bucket up every 2 - 3 days
     
  19. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    in that pic water moves from left to right - look at the top of the reactor that where the water get's pumped into my sump
     
  20. rakabos

    rakabos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    I just had a thought... Not perfect i know, but can do the job.

    Install a pump and piping from the reservoir in the garage that runs to the sump/tank. Connect the pump in the garage to a high quality electronic timer. This timer can then fire for a few seconds everyday sending water to the tank. The length of time it fires can be monitored/adjusted to fine tune it. I dont mind monitoring it to see that it works everyday, just would like it to be automated somewhat...

    What do you guys think?
     
  21. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    not a good idea

    everyday it's a different amount of water needed to be topped up & stable parameters is what one wants
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Evaporation advice Forum Date
Questions about Algae, Pump, evaporation and dead sweetlipss Beginner Discussions 14 Jan 2015
[wtd] Idol Marine Evaporation Chiller Wanted 30 Sep 2013
Temprature and Evaporation Problem Beginner Discussions 26 Aug 2012
Evaporation Beginner Discussions 24 Jul 2011
Water evaporation and topping up with kalk. General Discussions and Advice 11 Jul 2011
Could all the evaporation of my tank cause damp in walls. General Discussions and Advice 28 Jun 2011
Sealed SPS Reef video, no evaporation General Discussions and Advice 16 Oct 2009