Enough water movement?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Jacojs, 12 Sep 2016.

  1. Jacojs

    Jacojs

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    744
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Centurion
    Hi.

    I am upgrading to a 90x90x60 cube and am wondering whether my 2 Jebao RW4s will create enough flow in the tank?

    I currently cant point them straight towards the front pane because they then blow spots open on the sand, 60x50x50 cube.

    So I am hoping I can point them straight forward in the new tank and it should create enough flow without blowing sand all over?

    Thoughts/experience/advice please ;)
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mr_Armani777

    Mr_Armani777

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2013
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Fourways,JHB
    So I have had just one
    Rw4 in my juwel rio 125 nano, n just one will b fine, I'm looking for
    Rw4 if you want to offload



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. Jacojs

    Jacojs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    744
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Centurion
    Uhm I doubt one will be sufficient for my bigger tank, I may have to get an additional RW 8 to supplement the 2 RW4's. Not too sure what you mean.
     
  5. TaahirS

    TaahirS MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Cape Town (southern suburbs)
    Definitely will need to get more flow. Alot more if you want sps. Otherwise an RW8 will do.

    If you want sps then you'll probably need at least 3x RW8s
     
  6. Jacojs

    Jacojs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    744
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Centurion
    @TaahirS thanks, Just going with softies, so you say add 1 RW 8 to the mix right?
     
  7. Mr_Armani777

    Mr_Armani777

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2013
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Fourways,JHB
    You will be surprised at the power of these Rw4s I had to keep mine on low flow


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. Jacojs

    Jacojs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    744
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Centurion
    They are pretty powerful, I am getting good flow with both running on else mode.
     
  9. TaahirS

    TaahirS MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Cape Town (southern suburbs)
    Yes. An extra RW8 would give you enough for softies.
     
    Jacojs likes this.
  10. Mr_Armani777

    Mr_Armani777

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2013
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Fourways,JHB
    What level you running them on? Mine was on 2/3 and tilted to the surface and it gave more than enough, not even on full power


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. Jacojs

    Jacojs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    744
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Centurion
    @Mr_Armani777 both of mine are on else mode so they vary all the time.
     
  12. martinhal

    martinhal

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    357
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Northriding
    They are very powerful .

    Sorry for the hi jack , I may have on or two Rw4's available when my new tank is setup next week .
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Enough water movement Forum Date
Waterflow - once again - how much is enough? Pumps and Waterflow 3 Oct 2007
Picasso Trigger compatibility in a large enough tank General Discussions and Advice 7 Aug 2016
Do I have enough sun in my tank :) Lighting 26 May 2016
Aptasia problem - Don't have enough General Discussions and Advice 29 Nov 2015
Not a complete noob, but close enough ;-) New Members 13 Nov 2015
Standard store stand strong enough? Anything DIY Related 29 Mar 2015
How do you know if you're tank is mature enough for a mandarin? General Discussions and Advice 15 Oct 2014