enough lighting

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by wookie, 9 Oct 2014.

1. wookie

wookie

Morning guys just a general inquiry about my lighting, is it enough as i have a 4 ft tank with t5 quad and have 1 atinique blue and 3 reef whites 54watts. I have lps and sps corals and was just wondering is this adequate for these guys. TIA.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Omnitank

Omnitank

It should be enough, just replace the tubes about every 6 -8 months, as they tend to loose their efficiency. I assume that the tank is not deeper than 600

4. Dian6430

Dian6430

Im really no expert when it comes to T5 but what I have seen and red is that your bulb choice might be a bit off. So when you maybe start replacing them you can change the colours. ill see if I can find the link to the thread. Was also for a quad unit but maybe @RiaanP or @carlosdeandrade can help so long

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  5. carlosdeandrade

carlosdeandrade

T5's are great. Like @Omnitank asked "how deep is the tanK?" Bring in another actinic (colours will "POP"), and a blue or coral plus. What globes are you running? Most T5 can run for 12 months, the better ones like ATI and Geissmann run for 15-18 months (depending on temp, length of daylight).

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  6. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

most obvious parameter is, how deep is your tank. Or better phrased. How high is your rock stack. So how far is the corals from the light. Take into account certain corals that should be placed on the substrate, they should still receive between 150 and 200 PAR.

3 whites would help more with coral growth, but would not help a lot to make the colors pop.

7. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

8. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

what you can use is the coral plus tubes, they emit the blue spectrum but appear white/12k to our eyes..

9. carlosdeandrade

carlosdeandrade