Urgent help needed electric blue hermit lethargic

Discussion in 'Urgent Help Needed' started by Barlan, 11 Apr 2012.

1. Barlan

Barlan

hi all, i need some help, i'm VERY new to reefing. like 6 weeks new :)
    i have 2 gold and black chromis(for about 3 weeks) and 1 electric blue (6 weeks) and one live rock in a 37 liter tank.
    my hermit crab was fine when we got him, even in the first 2 weeks of having fish, he'd explore the LR and when feeding time came (twice a day) he'd move onto the substrate to get to the pellets. in the last 2 weeks, he became very lethargic, not moving and not eating, then he picked a bigger shell, molted a few days after this. his new shell is 2.5 X bigger than his original and he gets stuck in holes in the LR, from which, i have to rescue him (his legs are dangling and he literally cant move his shell, i realised this when i saw him reaching out of his shell trying to grip onto the rock below him.) he's still not eating - i put pellets right in front of him, he did nothing, didnt even move. the front of his body is visible, so he's not hiding, but i haven't seen him eat or move - unless i move him to see if he's alive and force him to move back to his "spot".

water params:
    nitrates are a bit high, between 15 - 30, shot up when we got the fish.
    salinity is 1.022, we're trying to up it to 1.025. but it was as low as 1.019 once and he was fine then.
    rest is fine.
    food: marine flakes for the fish and some marine pellets (3-5) occasionally- used to be every feeding, when he ate. frozen blood worms, once.
    water changes: once a week, around 40% - to try drop nitrate level.
    filtration system: (all built into the back - aquaria magic wave 37) consisting of a mini venturi skimmer, blue sponge, seachem matrix bio media and bioballs, ceramic rings and the water pump.
    i'm trying anything and everything to bring down the nitrates.

the fish seem fine, they eat, they swim, the hide from time to time.