eish...so many thoughts/arguments/you dont know what you getting yourself into

Discussion in 'New Members' started by prometheus, 16 Mar 2011.

1. prometheus

prometheus

hi all.

i've had some good and bad experiences to date with regards to advice about keeping a marine tank. "Do you know how much this is going to cost you?", "Are you sure you want to go with (type of tank here)", "You are getting into a very expensive game", "What skimmer are you using", "You are Okay without a skimmers", "if you use this tank you willl have a nitrate problems, all my customers do"," you will be fine, just do water changes"," you saw my 2nd hand tank, you dont want it, I have to hear from MASA, nice one" (I sent an email of apology, tried to call with my reasons of not wanting your tank but no answer, I never offered any confirmation that I am taking your tank), I'm sure you are reading this, you know who are.

Anyways, there you have it. I was so excited about getting a marine tank, saved for years, and now all this. Guys whats going on.

Well, to all the naysayers, I am getting my tank :)

Will be filling water, add salt, let the external canister filter run for about a week, do tests then what????

oh and pardon me for my absolute ignorance in your otherwise brilliant world of knowledge...(yes negative but I am annoyed)

Last edited: 16 Mar 2011
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tremayn

Tremayn

Congrats :) .. Hell you can use a plastic tub as a tank also :p ... No sump? After adding the salt, let it run for a day then add a few pieces of live rock to start the cycle. it takes about a month to cycle, if you dose a bacterial additive such as sea chem stability it will he;p the cycle and may shorten it. Please read the threads in the beginner section, there is a wealth of info here :) .. Welcome by the way :)

4. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator