Eco Wheel

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by Dohn, 21 Mar 2008.

1. Dohn

Dohn MASA Contributor

Hi All
    Has anyone ever come across the eco wheel. Was wondering if its worth tring to DIY something similar.
    System Pictures

Its a type of Algael turf scrubber that runs on an air pump. Suppose it could be used without algae to oxygenate the water and for water movement during power failures.

Its actually for filteration.
    Check out some of the tanks that use it.
    The Fish Registry

Im a newbie thats still researching all the ins and outs.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

Hello Dohn! Welcome to MASA! I hope that you enjoy your stay, and enjoy our company! No - I cannot say that I have heard of it before. Perhaps another one of our fellow reefers have indeed heard of it!

WOW! You from Kuwait? Tell us some more on your ideas of keeping reefs, as well as what your plans are?

Many thanks!

4. Dohn

Dohn Thread Starter MASA Contributor

Hello JacquesB!
    Yeah im an expat in exile. Been working in kuwait now for two years, going onto the 3rd.

I bought a setup from a fellow south african about a year ago and had no idea what marine was all about, i always kept freshwater fish because i thought marine was too complicated. But the south african talked me into it and told me it was easy.
    I got a 50 gallon tank with cannister filter, a 90 liter hospital tank with a cannister filter.
    Metal halide enclosure sporting two 150w lights + two T8 30w blue florecent lights.
    I thought the live rock was curing nicely because it was all turning red. LOL want a recipe for growing cyano. PM me.
    I want to build a cabinet which encloses all the tanks and gear, was doing research and came across this site. Been reading it for about a week and have discovered that it really is complicated to keep marine tanks. So i will be doing a bit of planning before building the cabinet.

5. Kanga